Help

While at work yesterday, I was asked by my area supervisor to go to a storage room and bring back a number of shirts and sweatshirts.  SCarowinds starts next week and we needed SCarowinds gear for our store to get ready.  When I got to the storage room, I quickly realized the task wasn’t as easy as I first thought.  First of all, the shirts weren’t stacked by sizes, so I had to organize them before I could figure out which ones to take.  The next issue was that they were not in boxes.  Since the conveyance I had to work with was a hand truck that also lies down into a four-wheeled truck thingie, I was concerned the shirts would slip off along the way.  Our store is a long, snaky way from the storage store.  I stacked the shirts as tightly and neatly as possible, hoping that would keep them in place.  Then, I started off on my trek.

Sadly, I was correct.  The lying-down-handtruck thingie wasn’t the best choice for shirts.  It wobbled and wiggled.  I made it a bit more than halfway before disaster struck.  I turned a corner and only half of the shirts came with me….the rest were in a pile on the ground.  More than a little embarrassed, I quickly started picking them up.  A couple of other Carowinds associates (from other departments) saw me and came to my aid.  Within a couple of minutes, we were all stacked up again and ready to go.  One of the helpful associates walked with me for a ways, helping keep the shirts on.  Then, I was on my own.  A security guard saw me struggling and helped me over the bridge and into the store.  In all, my load fell three times.  And each time, someone came to my rescue.  The neat thing was that, with the possible exception of the security officer, it wasn’t really the job of the other associates to help me…they simply were being nice.  And it got me to thinking….

Isn’t life like that?  Sometimes, we just need a little help.  John Lennon and Paul McCartney even wrote a song about it, “With a Little Help From My Friends.”  I think, though, it’s especially true in our Christian walk.  Sometimes the help we need is physical – moving, painting, sewing, stain removing.  But, more often than not, the help we need is a little less tangible.  We need encouragement, wisdom, prayer.  The Bible says “Like apples of gold in settings of silver Is a word spoken in right circumstances.”  Proverbs 25:11 NASB or, as The Message puts it, “The right word at the right time is like a custom-made piece of jewelry.”  My take on the verse is that the right word at the right time is a treasure beyond comprehension.  Whether that word be a simple hello with a smile or an encouraging word or a compliment…or even a word to our Father on behalf of someone else….those words are important.  Because we all need a little help from our friends!

Do you know someone who needs a little help?  If so, get to it!  Don’t wait for the other person to ask.  In “Experiencing God,” Henry Blackaby says “God’s revelation is His invitation.”  Or, as Big Weld put it in Robots “See a need, fill a need!”

Be blessed and tell someone you love them.

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

