Sunrise

This morning, I did something I haven’t done in a long time.  I watched the sun rise.  Well….I mean….I’m up early enough most mornings to see it rise.  Some mornings, I’m even out and about and get to see it.  But this is different.  I got out of bed for the specific purpose of watching the sun rise over the ocean.  When I got down to the beach, the sky was just starting to light up.  I was disappointed to see that there was a low-lying bank of clouds hanging right over the ocean.  I decided to stick it out anyway.  I wandered aimlessly down the beach, looking at seashells and keeping one eye on the sky.  As the sky got brighter, the clouds started lighting up.  For a brief moment, I could see a glowing red ball peek through the clouds, just over the ocean.  As the sun got higher, the light behind the clouds intensified.  Suddenly, I could see rays of light streaming out from behind, like fingers reaching out to light up the sky.  As the sun rose higher, the edges of the clouds glowed orange and red.  Before I knew it, the sun had finally made it past the clouds and was beaming brightly – a great orange ball suspended above the clouds, leaving a reflection on the water.  Already, I could feel the warmth of it on my shoulders and face.  I couldn’t help but think to myself how good our God is to give us a fresh start every morning.

And….(you didn’t think that was the only thing I thought, did you???)…I thought about how like life a sunrise is.  Life can be hard sometimes.  Really hard.  Stuff happens.  Life will be bumping along nicely when wham! something takes you by surprise and suddenly you feel as if you’re in the dark, wondering where the sunshine went.  Well, I want to say to you that the Son hasn’t gone anywhere.  He’s there, even if you can’t feel Him.  This morning, I had to wait to see the sun because the clouds were in the way.  Maybe  you have clouds in your life….watch them and wait.  God is working.  And before you know it, you’ll start seeing glimmers of light reaching beyond the clouds.  Next thing you know, He will be shining brightly in your life again.  But, while you’re waiting, trust Him, lean into Him, remind yourself of His promises.  And when your clouds have moved, don’t forget to encourage someone who has clouds of their own.

Be blessed and tell someone you love them.

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

