Who Won?

The presidential elections were held yesterday.  For those of you living under a rock, President Obama has won and will be the president of the United States for another four years.  This morning, half of the country is in mourning and half is rejoicing.  Clearly, we have larger problems than some of the issues that have come up.  We have become a country divided by ideals and religion and hopes and dreams.  Sadly, I feel as if the two major parties in America have capitalized on this and made the divide larger, deeper than it has to be.  And, as a Christian, I feel only as if satan has won.  Not because Obama won.  Simply because the opposite sides are still opposite.  If we are busy fighting each other, we can’t be busy about finding answers that will work for both sides.

Now, despite the fact that I’ve started with politics, that’s not really what this blog is about.  It’s about relationship.  As I said, this election has been particularly polarizing.  It is clearly “them against us” – no matter which side you fall on.  In the last few months, I’ve watched friends become enemies, family become estranged, and Christians (on both sides!) get downright ugly.  In the end, though, we are all Americans.  Black, white, hispanic, Christian, Muslim, Mormon, rich, poor, working, unemployed…and everyone else I didn’t mention.  We’re all in the same boat.  We can learn to get along or keep fighting.  To continue fighting will only deepen the divide.  But, if we start trying to see the other side’s point of view, then together, we are unstoppable!

As it is with the relationships in our lives.  I was originally thinking marriage, but it occurred to me that we have many relationships in our lives that this would apply to.  The enemy of our souls loves nothing more than to have us pitted against one another in battles that cannot be won.  That doesn’t mean you will never disagree.  It doesn’t mean you will never fight.  But as long as it’s about being right, everyone loses.  Fight if you must, but then put aside the need to be right long enough to seek middle ground.  If you take the time, you just might find out that you agree more than you disagree and will be able to find a solution that is best for everyone involved.  Psalm 41:14a says “Seek peace and pursue it.”  I think that sums it up nicely.

Be blessed and show some love today.

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

