Stronger

“What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger…” The song by Kelly Clarkson has been stuck in my head….and rolling in my spirit…all day. Not a particularly godly song, you may think. But, still, so true. We’ve discussed before that life is just hard. Stuff happens. Friends become enemies. Family members betray you. Workplaces lay you off. It’s so easy to look at these happenings and get really angry with the people behind it. But, the truth of the matter is this….it’s not them.

This isn’t new territory, by any means, but is always worth revisiting. 2 Chronicles 20:15 says, “This is what the LORD says: Do not be afraid! Don’t be discouraged by this mighty army, for the battle is not yours, but God’s.” (NLT) Ephesians 6:12 says “For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places.” (KJV) 1 Peter 5:8 says “Stay alert! Watch out for your great enemy, the devil. He prowls around like a roaring lion, looking for someone to devour.” (NLT) But wait! Don’t panic, God has equipped you! Ephesians 6:13 says this: “Therefore, take up the full armor of God, so that you will be able to resist in the evil day, and having done everything, to stand firm.” (NASB) Okay….so….did you catch all that? No? Lemme break it down for you….

Whatever you’re battling today, don’t be scared, afraid, dismayed or discouraged. This is God’s battle not yours. I know you think you’re fighting against a person, but you’re not. Look what it says – not against flesh and blood but rulers of the darkness of this world. Yep, the devil. The devil is bad. He does not like you. He wants you dead and he (and his demons) are looking for your weak spots. He wants to rip you away from God. He can’t, but he can convince you to let go of God. But, God has equipped us with all we need – His armor. Not sure what that is? Well, check this out…. “Stand firm therefore, having girded your loins with truth, and having put on the breastplate of righteousness, and having shod your feet with the preparation of the gospel of peace; in addition to all, taking up the shield of faith with which you will be able to extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one. And take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.” (Ephesians 6:14-18)

Now, you’re probably wondering what in the world this has to do with the song stuck in my head. Here’s the thing, nothing goes to waste in God’s economy! (I’m pretty sure I stole that from somebody, but I don’t know who!). Everything we go through is going to benefit us in some way, if we’ll only allow God to work in and through it. Romans 8:28 says “And we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose.” Did you catch that? All things. But, there’s a caveat….this is for those who love God….His people. My version would say to those who are sold out to Him and the things of Him. And here’s the grand finale….my sweet cousin posted this on her Facebook today and I was certain it was just for me: “In his kindness God called you to share in his eternal glory by means of Christ Jesus. So after you have suffered a little while , he will restore, support, and strengthen you, and he will place you on a firm foundation.” (I Peter 5:10)

So…there it is. If we hang on to God and His promises. If we stick it out and refuse to let the devil devour us. If we just trust God and let Him lead and guide us, our problems will end up benefiting us. Or, as Kelly Clarkson said….”What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger, stand a little taller…” Are you singing yet???

Be blessed and tell someone you love them.

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

