Don’t Assume!

So….a funny thing happened yesterday. I went purse shopping. Well, it started out as a trip to the mall with the best friend and our girls. That alone can be a riot! But, somewhere along the way, I decided I wanted a new purse. I’m new (again) to purses. I didn’t carry them for years, but then decided that I really do like them. The problem is, that I don’t always know what I like. So….purse shopping with me can be a bit painful – especially for a seasoned shopper like my friend.

We started at Dillards. Nothing there. Made our way down the mall to Belk. As I was standing in the middle of Belk’s handbag department, acting like my decision was going to affect world peace, my friend mentioned that there was a mirror, go look.

“What??? Look in the mirror??? To buy a purse?????” I gasped.

She gripped the nearest display for support and the blood drained out of her face. Incredulously, she looked at me and stammered, “Did you just say that?” She shook her head and murmured (almost under her breath), “I have so much to teach you.”

Bless. I don’t think my sweet friend could’ve been more surprised if I had suddenly announced that I was actually a man!

Which brings me to my point – don’t assume! And if you’re wondering how on earth I got that point, hang on, I’m going to tell you! You see, she assumed that I just knew that I should look in the mirror to see what my new purse was going to look like when I was styling around town with it. Just like we assume the people in our lives know what God is all about.

Sometimes, it’s outside of the church. We forget that some people really don’t know anything about the Gospel. It’s those times that we must be cautious about what our “walk” is telling them about Jesus. We may be the only Bible they’ll ever read!

Other times, though, it’s in the church. We see someone who’s been coming a while and make assumptions. We assume they are saved. We assumed they know Jesus personally. We ask them to pray, assuming they even have a prayer life. Or, for that matter, we assume they have no problems, simply because we don’t see them sprawled out at the altar. Now, I’m not saying we’re supposed to be all up in everybody’s business. What I’m saying is that we are made for relationship. We need each other. God calls us to be part of a body – not to keep each other in line, but to love each other through whatever trial they may be facing and rejoice with them when God does a great work.

So….how about it? Do you have relationships in the church? How’s the person two pews over doing? If you don’t know and you don’t see people in their life, maybe God’s calling you to be just that person.

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

All of you together are Christ’s body, and each of you is a part of it. 1 Corinthians 12:27 NLT

Be devoted to one another in brotherly love; give preference to one another in honor; Romans 12:10 NASB

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

