Not Yet

My girl has always been independent. She came out of the womb that way. Before she could crawl, she wanted to walk. When she started walking, she wanted to run. We had to teach her to swim at age two because she would go to the deepest part of the pool and jump in. Yes, that meant ten feet of water and a wet, scared mommy. She was fearless. As a newly licensed sixteen year old, she was wondering why she couldn’t drive in the sleet and freezing rain we had last night. It is a wonderful trait! But, sometimes gets her into trouble.

Today, when driving through a neighborhood I’m rarely in, I noticed a fruit tree of some sort – it already had a sprinkling of pink blossoms! In January! The dear husband said, “uh oh, blooming too early!” Yes, it’s beautiful, but if we get a real frost or freeze, those blossoms (and whatever fruit the tree bears) is going to die.

Sometimes, as Christians, we can be like that! We want to do incredible things for God! We get a vision and are ready to get to work…right that second! But, sometimes, God says, “Wait.” Now, I don’t know about you, but I don’t always like to hear wait. I’m like a spoiled little toddler. I want to stomp my foot and stick my lip out! I act like I’ve heard no instead of wait.  But, we have to learn to wait on God’s timing. If we jump ahead of Him, the results can be disastrous.

Take a look at Abraham and Sarah. God called Abram to a new place. Changed his name. Changed his wife’s name. Then, made them an incredible promise – you will have a son. Well, that’s nice and all but there was a problem. They were old. Really old. Past childbearing age. So, Sarah decided to jump ahead of God and help Him out. She sent her maid Hagar into Abraham. Hagar had a son by Abraham named Ishmael. But, that wasn’t God’s plan. He soon did exactly as He had promised and a son was born to Sarah – Isaac. But, she now had the issue of the pesky maid and that other kid to deal with. She sent Hagar and the other son away. God saw Hagar and her son and cared for them. He promised Hagar that He would make a great nation out of her son. Being the keeper of promises that He is, He did just that. But, Ishmael’s descendants and Isaac’s descendants would never get along. To this day, the Arabs and Israelis are fighting over a tiny patch of land….all because Sarah was impatient.

Now, I’m not sure that our impatience will have as great an impact as Sarah’s did. But, I’m guessing she had no clue hers would be riddled with so many problems either! My point is simply this….just because God has promised you something, doesn’t necessarily mean it’s going to happen right now. Sometimes, He’s only preparing you for the future He has in store. If things aren’t falling into place, get before Him and ask. He just may be saying, “Not yet.”

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

PS….for a better account of Abraham, Sarah, Hagar, Isaac and Ishmael, read Genesis 11-25.

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Not Yet

My girl has always been independent. She came out of the womb that way. Before she could crawl, she wanted to walk. When she started walking, she wanted to run. We had to teach her to swim at age two because she would go to the deepest part of the pool and jump in. Yes, that meant ten feet of water and a wet, scared mommy. She was fearless. As a newly licensed sixteen year old, she was wondering why she couldn’t drive in the sleet and freezing rain we had last night. It is a wonderful trait! But, sometimes gets her into trouble.

Today, when driving through a neighborhood I’m rarely in, I noticed a fruit tree of some sort – it already had a sprinkling of pink blossoms! In January! The dear husband said, “uh oh, blooming too early!” Yes, it’s beautiful, but if we get a real frost or freeze, those blossoms (and whatever fruit the tree bears) is going to die.

Sometimes, as Christians, we can be like that! We want to do incredible things for God! We get a vision and are ready to get to work…right that second! But, sometimes, God says, “Wait.” Now, I don’t know about you, but I don’t always like to hear wait. I’m like a spoiled little toddler. I want to stomp my foot and stick my lip out! I act like I’ve heard no instead of wait. But, we have to learn to wait on God’s timing. If we jump ahead of Him, the results can be disastrous.

Take a look at Abraham and Sarah. God called Abram to a new place. Changed his name. Changed his wife’s name. Then, made them an incredible promise – you will have a son. Well, that’s nice and all but there was a problem. They were old. Really old. Past childbearing age. So, Sarah decided to jump ahead of God and help Him out. She sent her maid Hagar into Abraham. Hagar had a son by Abraham named Ishmael. But, that wasn’t God’s plan. He soon did exactly as He had promised and a son was born to Sarah – Isaac. But, she now had the issue of the pesky maid and that other kid to deal with. She sent Hagar and the other son away. God saw Hagar and her son and cared for them. He promised Hagar that He would make a great nation out of her son. Being the keeper of promises that He is, He did just that. But, Ishmael’s descendants and Isaac’s descendants would never get along. To this day, the Arabs and Israelis are fighting over a tiny patch of land….all because Sarah was impatient.

Now, I’m not sure that our impatience will have as great an impact as Sarah’s did. But, I’m guessing she had no clue hers would be riddled with so many problems either! My point is simply this….just because God has promised you something, doesn’t necessarily mean it’s going to happen right now. Sometimes, He’s only preparing you for the future He has in store. If things aren’t falling into place, get before Him and ask. He just may be saying, “Not yet.”

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

PS….for a better account of Abraham, Sarah, Hagar, Isaac and Ishmael, read Genesis 11-25.

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

