But, God….WHY???

My little man wants answers. To everything. For every question. “I don’t know.” is never acceptable. “I’m not sure.” is even more heinous and God forbid we pull out the ever popular, “Because I said so!” This morning, the discussion was about why you should never hit the person driving the car.  Ever…with anything! My future lawyer was arguing every possible angle and taking everything completely out of context. Finally, out of sheer exasperation, I said, “This is one of those things you don’t need to understand. You just gotta trust me.” Uh oh. Ouch. Yes, God, I heard myself.

How often have you found yourself in a completely bizarre situation, knowing God put you there and all you want to know is, “Why???” I know I have. I’m there right now. God’s made it clear that this is Him, but the answer to my “why” question is still a big hairy secret.

I’m certain this need to know why isn’t new to our generation. The Psalms are full of “But, why, God?” David was a man after God’s own heart, but frequently he was before His Heavenly Father asking Him what on earth was going on…and why??? Job asked why. Even Jesus asked “why” while hanging on the cross. And He was God. He knew why! My best guess is that we’re human….with all the frailties and shortcomings that come with it. When Job asked why, God quickly pointed out that He didn’t have to answer to Job.

And so it is with us. Sometimes, in His infinite goodness, God gives us an answer to our questions. Sometimes, though, still in His infinite goodness, He doesn’t. I thought long and hard about that and I think the answer is far more simple than we might think. When my little man wants to know why he has to be so cautious around strangers, I don’t give him the full answer. His young heart and mind aren’t ready to hear what can happen to kidnapped children. But, I know and I don’t want him to ever have to experience it. So, I limit him in ways he simply doesn’t understand and I require him to obey, despite his lack of understanding. Since God loves us so much more than we can love our children, I know that has to be part of the reason He sometimes withholds the answers to our questions.

So….are you in a “But, God…WHY???” place? That’s okay. Trust that your Father has the perfect plan. Someday, you may know the “why?” But, in the meantime, the ultimate answer is this: because He loves you.

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

For just as the heavens are higher than the earth, so my ways are higher than your ways and my thoughts higher than your thoughts. Isaiah 55:9 NLT

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

