Full Circle

Many moons ago in a distant galaxy….Or a couple of decades ago in a nearby city….I worked at Harris Teeter. It’s where the dear husband and I met. In fact, one of our managers was instrumental in getting…and keeping…us together. So, a couple of years ago when I was jobless and needed money, I went to that manager and asked for a job. He made sure I got a job as a cashier in his store….and I hated it. Life was hard. I was having health problems. My dad was very ill. I had two kids who needed me. I wasn’t getting enough hours. And there was a woman there who did not like me and enjoyed tormenting me. Being the big, bold woman I am, I would just go hide and cry.

I often wondered if I had taken the job, not because God sent me, but because I was poor and needed money. Maybe I had left God out of the decision-making process. There was one bright spot though….they figured out I could work in the flower department. I had been trained years earlier and have used those skills in many different ways since. I worked the week of Valentines and all the prom nights for the area high schools. But, it was temporary and I had to go back to the cash register when those seasons were over. When Mother’s Day came around, I turned in my notice, worked the weekend in the flowers and that was it. Still, I wondered if God had been in it.

Fast forward to a couple of weeks ago. I got a Facebook message from the Floral Manager I had worked with. “Call the store manager,” it said. Hmmmm….okay. He’s a friend, albeit one I don’t see often. Wonder what’s up? I was shocked when he offered me a job.

It seems that the sweet woman who was the Floral Manager, who I had developed a great working friendship with, was moving to another store and recommended me for her job. And since the Store Manager already knew me, it was easy convincing him. So….I will be the new Floral Manager at Harris Teeter at Mountain Island! Yay! I’m very excited (and a bit nervous)!

And….I can so clearly see God’s hand! You see, I felt like I was following His leading when I took the job two years ago, but then assumed I had heard wrong when I hated it so horribly. But, if I hadn’t pursued the cashier job, if I hadn’t agreed to work in the Floral Department, if I hadn’t met the Floral Manager….I wouldn’t be getting the job now!

Just let me encourage you….I know life can be hard and confusing and frustrating. I know! And sometimes it seems like God has completely forgotten that you are down here in a pickle and need some help. But, He is good! All the time! Jesus said repeatedly that we shouldn’t worry about things like food and clothes and such. (One place to read it is Luke 12:22-34). He reminded us that God cares for the smallest of animals, so surely He will care for us. That means you! And me. Just when I really needed a job with insurance, God delivered it from the results of a very unlikely situation. And He’ll do the same for you. Hang on, God’s not done yet!

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

