Where Are You?

So….a funny story for you. Today was a long day. I had school from 9am until almost 4pm. I left there and went to work for a couple of hours. From work, I went to Goodwill looking for a shirt to wear to work until my uniform shirt comes in. Then, home to do homework. The dear husband had decided Dairy Queen would be perfect for tonight, so he and mom and my little man all went on a Dairy Queen run while I started on the homework I had procrastinated on. After I ate, I went back to the computer. A few minutes into my second story, hubby announced that he needed to go to the store (the cats are out of food and are threatening mutiny) and asked the little man if he wanted to go. That was the last I heard of them.

After my homework was done and I had posted a couple of silly things on Facebook, I decided I was exhausted and was heading on to bed. But, wait. Were my men home yet? I asked the girl if she knew how long they’d been gone and she didn’t. Not wanting to go to sleep with them still out and about, I called the dear husband. About the time I got him on the phone, the girl came down the hall laughing. “They’re here!” she managed to squelch out between giggles. “Where are you?” I asked my husband. His reply? “Downstairs.” Seriously? “We never left.” Wow.

We all had a good laugh about it, then it hit me. How often do I wander around thinking God has left me? How often do I say, “God where are you?” His Word promises that we can go nowhere that He isn’t. David wrote, “Whither shall I go from thy spirit? or whither shall I flee from thy presence? If I ascend up into heaven, thou art there: if I make my bed in hell, behold, thou art there.” (Psalm 139:7-8 KJV) Deuteronomy 31:6 says, “Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the LORD your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you.” Jesus said, “and lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age.” (Matthew 28:20 NASB). So….taking a leap here….I think that means that God is not going to leave me to my own devices.

What about you? Have you been dialing God up and asking where He is? Hang up the phone, He hasn’t gone anywhere! He promised!

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Where Are You?

  1. Good thoughts. I wonder if they did it deliberately to fool you?
    Sometimes it isn’t that God has left us; it’s that we ourselves have wandered away from Him, chasing some butterfly that looked like fun. I believe God doesn’t ever abandon us if we want to stay beside Him, and He doesn’t ever want us to leave Him, but there are some places He simply will not go with us, in one sense. He won’t go with us into sin.
    I think we need to be aware of the warning Jesus gave the Church in Ephesus (Revelation Ch. 3-4), “You have left your first love.” But that’s a type of abandonment when we stop looking to God or feeling our need of Him. It’s not the same as “I just don’t feel Him near today.”

Leave a Reply

