Rerun!

Tonight, the little man wanted me to watch a movie with him. Sometimes I feel like I get precious little time just being with him, so I took the invitation as an opportunity to just hang out. He chose a well-loved movie that we’ve seen over and over. We’ve seen it so much that we’ll start laughing before the funny part because we know what’s coming. Or we’ll quote it as the characters are speaking. (Yeah, we’re not fun to watch a rerun with!) As we were giggling over the same old scenes, I thought about how refreshing it is to do just that – laugh at familiarity. Then, of course, my brain took it a step further.

What are you rerunning? You know…in your mind, in your heart…maybe even with your mouth. Are you rerunning or rehearsing good or bad? Now, being a word person, I decided to look up the word rehearse. Here’s what Webster’s says about it: to recite in detail. So, let me ask again. What are you rehearsing? I’ll give you a glimpse into some of what I tend to rehearse: the times I was hurt deeply, especially if by someone I love; the times I felt betrayed; the times when a misspeak on the part of the other person hurt my feelings. But, these are the wrong things to rehearse!

When life is easy and I’m feeling confident, I also rehearse good things. Like, a sweet gesture by the dear husband. Or when God answered a specific prayer in a mighty way. Or the birth of my children. These are the things we are supposed to run through our mind over and again….these things that were delivered in love by our God. Or even the times that were hard, but God stepped in and made good out of bad.

Philippians 4:8 says, “And now, dear brothers and sisters, one final thing. Fix your thoughts on what is true, and honorable, and right, and pure, and lovely, and admirable. Think about things that are excellent and worthy of praise.” (NLT) Read that again. Did you see anything that said think about the rotten stuff that the enemy did to you? (Remember, even if it was a person who hurt you, it was still the enemy simply using that person!). Did you see think about scary things? Did you see think about what could go wrong? Ummm….no. You didn’t. Think on good stuff.

Remember, I said that when life is easy, I tend to think the good things? Well, I have bad news for you….life isn’t easy very often. And I’m pretty sure that verse didn’t say only when it’s easy. In Revelation, it says, “And they have defeated him by the blood of the Lamb and by their testimony. And they did not love their lives so much that they were afraid to die.” (Revelation 12:11 NLT) The him in that verse is none other than Tally Bogus himself. (Tally Bogus is the name one of our ministers uses for the devil. I like it.) Okay….read it again…go ahead, I’ll wait. Yep, it says they defeated Tally Bogus by the blood of the lamb (Jesus!) and the word of their testimony. And….guess what….it’s exciting….you can defeat him the same way!

So….what’s your testimony? What good thing has my God done for you? He’s done a LOT for me! If I were a good and proper Church of God-er, I’d say He saved me and sanctified me and filled me with the Holy Ghost! (Getting with each word and putting extra emphasis on Ghost!) All that is true. And I’m so very thankful for it! But, He didn’t stop there. He blesses me daily. He meets me where I am and holds me close. He made me a part of His family – I’m a princess! Go ahead, rehearse what He’s done for you! Wanna share? I’d love to hear it!

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

