Hidden Treasure

As you may know, I recently took a job at Harris Teeter as the floral manager. Well, technically I have quite a bit of training to do before I’m manager. But, I’ll be doing the job while I’m learning, so I’m sticking with manager. The floral manager I am replacing relocated to a store closer to her home. It was a good move for her and she’s very excited. However, her new store has been without a floral manager for years. They had someone who spent a few hours a week in the department, but that simply isn’t enough time to make it look good. So, my friend went into a mess! She’s been purging for days and it still is a hot mess! The funny thing is that she is an incredible floral designer! Her creations are so pretty! And her cooler is stocked full of them. But it’s hard to notice all the pretty flowers when the area around them is in shambles!

Kinda like us. We can be called to do the most amazing things for The Lord and accomplish them quite neatly, but If the rest of our lives is a mess, people have a hard time looking past it. I have known people who were so incredibly gifted and used that gift for The Lord, but refused to allow Him to purge out the garbage in their lives and their ministry suffered so much. Now, don’t get me wrong, I know God’s grace covers all, but that doesn’t give us free reign to do what we want.

It comes down to what it always comes down to with me. We are called to love. Love God. Love each other. If we can’t learn to do that, then it won’t matter how much money we gave, how long we sang in the church choir, how many mission trips we went on, how many VBS’s we headed up. The Message says without love, we are bankrupt. (1Corinthians 13. Just read the whole chapter…it’s good stuff). In the end, I believe God is going to care far more about the love we showed to everyone…especially those we liked the least…than how many church services we missed or what we were wearing when we got there.

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hidden Treasure

  1. You have written a lot of interesting articles, practical situations with a lot of food for thought — and this is definitely one of them! Maybe it’s because I feel kind of “messy” tonight that it appeals to me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

