Imperfection

I’m certain I’ve mentioned that my best friend is an amazing pianist. I have always loved piano music….well, I just love music! All kinds! It feeds my soul. Anyway, it has been an extra blessing to have a friend who plays so well – and is willing to share her talents. Currently, she’s putting together a cd of “church music” that she will be selling as a missions fund raiser. She asked me to design a label and cover for her cd’s and in exchange, I got a sneak peek of the music. The disk we were listening to had everything from her recording session on it – the good, the bad and the ugly. She really didn’t want me to hear the bad stuff, so she came armed with a list of acceptable songs. I popped the disk in my computer, not realizing that I had set it up to “rip” every cd I played. In other words, before I realized it, my computer was copying the whole disk! Okay, no problem, we’ll just delete the bad ones. Except, I’m not really that smart. So, I marked the bad ones with a weird song title and decided not to worry about it.

This morning, as I was trying to work on homework. (Yes, I’m writing a blog rather than writing one of the 26 Chapter Reflection papers I’m supposed to be writing. Don’t judge.) I decided piano music would be a good backdrop for my studies. I’m one of those folks who do better with at least one more thing going on. Oh yeah! I never got to hear all the music on the new cd! Perfect! That’s what I’ll listen to! So, I turned it on and started on homework. Suddenly, I was jarred out of my homework reverie by some very weird sounds coming out of my computer! Oh….ooops…those were the songs I was supposed to delete. Ha! Oh well. I can endure the bad to get to the good. And, actually, I enjoy hearing the “oops.” It’s a good reminder that we all make mistakes, even the most talented among us.

Which made me think about the Bible. (Of course. Doesn’t everything?) How thankful am I that God chose to include the bad with the good? Sometimes, we make living for God so difficult as it is. Can you imagine how much harder we’d be on ourselves if we were trying to live up to the perfect model? For example, I know that the Proverbs 31 woman is supposed to be a model for us, but that seems so impossible! That woman can do everything! And does it cheerfully! I’m much more like Sara/Sarah who decided that God couldn’t possibly bless Abraham with a child on His own, so decided to help him. Or like Peter, who had a good heart, but an even bigger mouth. Or David. Poor David….he really found himself in some messes, didn’t he? Yet, the Bible calls him “a man after God’s own heart.” Wow. If David can do it, so can I!

So….feeling like a screw-up this morning? Or like a failure? Take heart! That Proverbs 31 woman wasn’t real – she was an ideal. The real people in the Bible were just that…real. They had the same fears, disappointments, failures and character flaws that we have. You see, God already knew all that about all of us. That’s how He gets His glory. It’s no big deal if a perfect person does something perfectly, because they’re…well…perfect. But, when He takes one of us, with all our flaws and uses us to accomplish an amazing work for Him, everyone knows and sees the glory of God in it!

There are a whole lot of scriptures I could throw at you right now. If you want to know about any of the people I mentioned, google them. But, the scripture that seems most fitting right now is this, “But seek first His kingdom and His righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.” Matthew 6:33  Seek Him, everything will fall into place.

Be blessed and tell someone you love them! (And buy a CD from my friend!  It’s amazing!)

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

