It’s Time!

Have you ever seen the movie Steel Magnolias? It’s one of our old favorites. We’re big on movie quoting…you know…throwing random movie quotes into everyday conversation. It’s my husband’s sport, but I’ve gotten pretty good at it. Well, one of my favorites comes from Steel Magnolias. Shelby’s getting married. Her daddy is waiting outside. It’s time for him to walk her down the aisle, so she sticks her head out the door and says, “Daddy, it’s time.” Unfortunately, Daddy shot off quite a bit of firecrackers the day before and his hearing was a bit….ummm…well, he couldn’t hear much at all. So, she repeated herself. Finally, Shelby ended up yelling, “DADDY, IT’S TIME!!!!!” “IT’S TIME? OH! IT’S TIME!” was his response. It’s not unusual to hear one of us toss “It’s time!” out when….duh….when it’s time.

Which kinda brings me to my point. Everything has a time. Wedding invitations clearly have their time listed. You show up late, you miss the wedding. (Yes, I’ve done this.) Funerals have a time. Church services. Movies. Flowers. Food. It has a time to be ready and a time when you should not eat it. (Think expiration date!) The Bible has this to say about time:

There is an appointed time for everything. And there is a time for every event under heaven—
A time to give birth and a time to die;
A time to plant and a time to uproot what is planted.
A time to kill and a time to heal;
A time to tear down and a time to build up.
A time to weep and a time to laugh;
A time to mourn and a time to dance.
A time to throw stones and a time to gather stones;
A time to embrace and a time to shun embracing.
A time to search and a time to give up as lost;
A time to keep and a time to throw away.
A time to tear apart and a time to sew together;
A time to be silent and a time to speak.
A time to love and a time to hate;
A time for war and a time for peace.
~ Ecclesiastes 3:1-8, NASB

There are other verses that talk about time, of course, but this one really is what I want to look at. Each line deals with the opposites of the same subject. Love and hate, war and peace, weep and laugh….you get the point. I believe one of the most dangerous things we can do as Christians is refuse to acknowledge when it’s time to do the opposite…the opposite of what you’re doing. I know a (former) pastor who stepped away from his church sometime in the last couple of years. Not because it was flailing, not because he wasn’t happy, simply because God said so. I think it’s very easy to get stuck in the place God put you and fail to hear Him say, “Move.” Or, to refuse to hear Him saying, “Move.” Maybe the move is going to be hard. (They almost always are.) Maybe someone will misunderstand. Maybe the timing doesn’t seem right. Or maybe we just don’t want to. Period.

If you’re a regular here, then you know that I love, love, love daffodils! (I have some blooming in my yard!) If you’re new here and are thinking I’m crazy, check out my post titled, “Daffodils.” I had the opportunity to dig up some daffodils from my uncle’s yard a few weeks ago. His daughter was selling his house and these daffodils came from a property he used to rent. They spilled down the hill like a bucket of yellow paint tipped over. I fell in love with the color and smell then. A couple of years ago, they took on a very special meaning for me (seriously, go read the daffodil post!). So, of course, when I got the opportunity to have some of those buttercup beauties, I jumped at it! I took the little man and a shovel and made him promise not to tell anyone that mom was digging in the dirt (a couple of weeks after surgery…). Don’t worry, the dear husband came and helped. Then my sweet men planted all those bulbs for me. What I noticed as I was separating the flowers for planting was this – they desperately needed to be thinned. Bulb plants reproduce under the ground. If you don’t dig them up and separate them, they don’t grow right. So, a clump of six or seven or ten bulbs may only produce one flower….instead of one per bulb. They must be moved away from each other to bloom correctly.

Yep, you see where I’m going with this, don’t you? When you refuse to hear God’s urgings to step away, you are stifling yourself and possibly others. I know, we’ve all heard the phrase, “Bloom where you’re planted!” I agree! Totally. But, if you’re not blooming anymore, maybe God was trying to transplant you and you didn’t move when He said to. Just maybe.

What about you? Feeling stagnant? Bound? Crowded? Get before the Lord and ask Him if you’ve missed something. He’ll speak. And, you’ll hear. Remember, the Bible says that His sheep know His voice. (John 10:27) Be ready to listen! Who knows what He might tell you???

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

