Home

I love to sing!  As I’ve said in my blog before, music just moves me.  I love nothing more than riding down the road with the kids or the husband or the best friend with the radio on and all of us singing.  There’s a sort of intimacy in that moment when a person not comfortable with his or her singing voice gets comfortable enough to sing in front of you.  That, however, is not the fodder for this blog – although I think it’d be a good one!

My taste in music matches my taste in most other things – it’s rather eclectic.  Most often, though, you’ll find my radio on a Christian music station or one of the popular music stations.  (Don’t forget, I have a teenager!)  I know there are many in the Christian faith who believe you should only listen to Christian music.  Forgive me.  I simply don’t adhere to that.  That’s like saying you can never, ever eat anything that isn’t perfectly healthy for you!  But, since we are what we put in us, a steady diet of any junk….whether it be food, music, books, TV, etc….simply isn’t good for us.  That being said….

The song that’s been speaking to me lately is “Home” by Phillip Phillips.  Why on earth the man has the same name as first and last, I don’t know.  But, I love, love, love the song!  I normally pick up on one or two lines and focus in on that, but this time, I just like all of it.  So….here are the lyrics….(thanks elyrics.net!)

Hold on, to me as we go
As we roll down this unfamiliar road
And although this wave is stringing us along
Just know you’re not alone
Cause I’m going to make this place your home

Settle down, it’ll all be clear
Don’t pay no mind to the demons
They fill you with fear
The trouble it might drag you down
If you get lost, you can always be found

Just know you’re not alone
Cause I’m going to make this place your home

Settle down, it’ll all be clear
Don’t pay no mind to the demons
They fill you with fear
The trouble it might drag you down
If you get lost, you can always be found

Just know you’re not alone
Cause I’m going to make this place your home

I’m not sure who this is supposed to be written to or from.  I’ve had friends post it and say it reminded them of their spouses, because their spouses truly represented home to them.  I get that.  Definitely.  I can see it as written to a child from a parent.  Or between really close friends.  But, my favorite way of thinking of this song is this….it sounds like it could’ve been written to us by God!  In fact, in the turmoil of the last couple of months, it has spoken to me exactly that way.  Every time it comes on at work, I find myself just flooded with a reminder of God’s love and promises!  See….look….

Remain in me, as I also remain in you.  John 15:4

“I will never leave you nor forsake you.”  Hebrews 13:5

But if from there you seek the Lord your God, you will find him if you seek him with all your heart and with all your soul.  Deuteronomy 4:29

And….I can’t find an exact verse that says not to listen to demons – although that seems like a no-brainer!  But, we know that the enemy of our soul loves to bring us down and we can not listen to his lies.  I think this verse works…. Be alert and of sober mind. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour. 1 Peter 5:8

See….told you!  God’s promises….in a secular song!  I love the way He works!

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

