Walls

I read something on Facebook that has made me think.  It said, “Sometimes we put up walls, not to keep people out but to see who cares enough to knock them down…”  Huh.  That’s a good one, isn’t it?  And, honestly, I think we’ve probably covered this territory before.  But….I don’t think I’ll let that stop me!

Walls.  We use them to protect ourselves and our stuff.  Houses have walls.  Businesses have walls.  We even use walls within walls….think bathroom, bedroom, dressing room.  These are places we don’t want folks barging in on us without permission!  So, we use walls.  And doors.  With locks.

But, those aren’t the kind of walls we’re talking about, are they?  The walls in that quote refers to those we build around our hearts.  We get hurt, we build a wall.  We get hurt again, we build a bigger wall.  We get hurt again….more walls.  You get the point.  And, yes, these walls can do a great job of insulating our hearts.  After all, if there’s a wall around your heart and no one can get close, then they can’t hurt you…right?  Problem is, it can get mighty lonely inside those walls.  What we mean for protection ends up becoming our prison.

Sometimes, those walls even protect us from the very One Who can heal our hearts and make our walls less necessary.  God is a gentleman.  He won’t come in if He’s not invited.  But, if we wall ourselves off well enough, even He can’t get it.  I think we can even get to the point that we wall ourselves off from ourselves.  We don’t let ourselves feel because if we feel, we have to deal with the pain.

Look around you.  Do you know someone who has walls?  It’s not always obvious.  That person may just look aloof or quiet or shy or even rude.  I believe God doesn’t want us living with these huge walls!  I believe He has healing for the hearts that the walls protect.  Reach out today to someone who needs it….even if you have to reach around your own set of walls to do it.  I promise God will meet you both in it.

Ya know, it boils down to the same old thing it always does with me.  Love.  God calls us to love.  Love Him, love each other.  The higher a person’s walls, the more love they need.  And the only way you can give them that love is letting yourself receive it from the Father first.  1 John 4:8 says, “Whoever does not love does not know God, because God is love.”  John 13:34-35 says,  “A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another. By this everyone will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another.”  See.  God wants us to love each other.  He’s so serious about it, He says that’s how other people will know we’re His.

Look for some walls today.  Don’t break them down….that hurts!  Gently love the person behind the walls….they’ll let you in eventually.

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

