Beauty in Chaos

I go to church in Lowell, NC.  The “back” entrance/exit lets out onto a small side street.  The lot across the side street (that’s barely big enough for two cars) is deserted.  I assume there used to be a house there, but now it’s just a piece of property with brush and briars and brambles.  It’s a bit wild and exotic looking in the summer, when everything’s green, but in the winter, it’s just desolate looking.  Everything is brown and hanging onto each other and looks like time has forgotten it.  Last week, as we were leaving church, I happened to notice a splash of color in the midst of the chaos.  Daffodils!  And you know how much I love daffodils!  As I looked a bit closer, I notice other patches of yellow.  Probably, the folks who lived there before had planted them.  And probably they’ve come up every year since.  But, it was this year that I noticed them.  As soon as I saw them, I knew I’d be writing about daffodils again.  But, it wasn’t until this morning that God worked that lesson in my heart.

Let me start by backtracking about a year….The best friend and I went on our second mission trip to Nicaragua.  As we were flying over the country, looking out on the dry, dusty landscape, she noticed a tree with yellow flowers.  Now, I gotta tell you….it’s normally me who spots stuff like that….and we were pretty high up!  She knew it held significance for her, but wasn’t sure what it was.  The rest of the trip, she ran into the color yellow everywhere in odd, assorted places.  When she got home, she continued to have the yellow experience.  When she looked it up, what she found said that yellow represented the Holy Spirit.  Wow.  Pretty awesome.

So, back to my daffodils.  Remember how I said that the property they were on was desolate and brown?  Well, life can be that way.  It can feel chaotic and out of sorts.  Or maybe you’re experiencing winter in your life and it feels like everything’s dead and always will be.  Or maybe your outlook is bleak.  Whatever the situation, I would say this to you…look for the daffodils!  God is in your midst!  Where He is there is always hope.  If you are His, you are never alone.  Just because things look bleak or dead or chaotic doesn’t mean it’s always going to be that way.  Spring is coming!  Before you know it, the green stems of the daffodils will be drowned out by the green of everything else.  But, for now, look for your splash of yellow.  God hasn’t left you or forsaken you.  Because He said He wouldn’t.  So there!

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Beauty in Chaos

  1. mellysue418 says:

    thank you so much,this is wonderful! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Look For the Bright Spots | Christine's Collection

Leave a Reply

