F.E.A.R.

As you may know, I work in the floral department of a grocery store.  It perfectly suits my personality.  I get to create and play with the flowers, plus I get to see lots of people!  God is good!  Sometimes, though, the people I deal with don’t make me happy.  Yesterday, a young woman came in with some very wilted foil balloons that clearly needed more air.  She inquired if I could add helium and it was, what about a quarter a balloon, right???  Negative, ghost rider, that would be $1.50 per balloon.  She got indignant.  “I just bought these here four days ago and they’re already going down!  I’m going to talk to the manager!”  Without giving me time to respond, she marched toward the front of the store.  I mentally shrugged and went about my business.  A minute later, I saw her talking to the Customer Service Manager.  She came back and announced that he said we would take care of it.  Fine.  We’re all about taking care of the customer, so I put helium in the balloons.  As she walked off, I shook my head and went to the front of the store to see the Customer Service Manager.  “You know those balloons didn’t come from here, don’t you?”  He said no and asked if I charged her the $1.50 per balloon.  “Ummm….noooo….she said you said we would do it for free!” I sputtered.  “I did not!” he said.  Ooops.  I got had.

Ya know….that’s how the enemy of our soul operates.  I have heard it said that FEAR means False Evidence Appearing Real.  In my balloon situation, the false evidence was the fact that I did, indeed, see Ms. Helium Thief talking to the Customer Service Manager.  I forgot to factor in the fact that not everyone is honest.  Satan operates the same way.  He will allow you to see or hear a piece of evidence, then commence to filling your mind with lies to go with that evidence.  And, yes, that often leads to fear.  1 John 4:18 says, “Such love has no fear, because perfect love expels all fear. If we are afraid, it is for fear of punishment, and this shows that we have not fully experienced his perfect love.”  NLT  John 8:44a says, “The devil has nothing to do with the truth. There is no truth in him. It is expected of the devil to lie, for he is a liar and the father of lies.”

So….there it is.  God is love.  In God’s love, there is no fear.  If you have fear, you haven’t fully experienced His perfect love in that area of your life.  Satan lies.  He is the father of lies.  If you have fear, you have been listening to the devil rather than your Father in Heaven who loves and adores you.  Have you ever known those people who, when they correct you, do it in a way that makes you happy to have been corrected?  I have and loved them for it.  Well, our God is that way!  If He’s in it, even if it’s painful, you will have been happy for the experience.

What are you fearing today?  What has you gripped in fear and insecurity?  Finances?  Health?  Job?  Children?  Spouse?  Friends?  In His Word, God tells us over and over to “Fear not!”  I think He said it enough that 1) He knows His children are prone to fear and 2) He is prepared to help us with it.  I think what He would say to you today is this…  “Trust me.  I got this!”

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

