Wal-Mart

Last night, after church, I could be found in the same place that I can be found many Sunday nights – grocery shopping.  For some reason, the fact that my children need food to pack their lunches takes me by surprise….every week.  So, I was in that huge box store that carries everything from shovels and rakes to gas cans and pet fish to milk and bread. As I, for about the third time, reached for an item that was out of stock, I exclaimed (rather loudly!), “I hate Wal-Mart!”  A lady walking by agreed wholeheartedly and headed down the next aisle.  I’ve found that most folks hate Wal-Mart.  They never have what I need.  The stuff is never stocked right, so it takes rocket science (and reading glasses) to figure out prices.  The stores are dingy.  The employees (for the most part) are rude.  Yet, I find myself there regularly.  Why?  Price.  Convenience.  After all….it’s cheap, they sell everything (when they have it) and there’s a Wal-Mart on every corner.  Yet….I hate Wal-Mart.  Seriously.

Hmmm….made me think.  What else do I hate, yet tolerate, simply because it’s easiest?  You know….the path of least resistance.  I’m pretty sure the Bible would call it the path to hell.  Matthew 7:13 says, “You can enter God’s Kingdom only through the narrow gate. The highway to hell is broad, and its gate is wide for the many who choose that way.”  Uh-oh.

So….what is your Wal-Mart?  Do you stay in a destructive relationship because it’s easier than leaving?  Still letting addiction rule your life because getting clean seems too hard?  Are you letting your kids get away with things they shouldn’t, simply because you’re too tired to correct them…again?  Or maybe it’s a smaller thing like reaching for the tv remote when God wants to spend time with you.  Now….don’t get me wrong….I’m not saying these things are (necessarily) going to send you to hell.  What I’m saying is that we have the power to choose. And those choices affect our very lives.

Deuteronomy 30:19 says, “Today I have given you the choice between life and death, between blessings and curses. Now I call on heaven and earth to witness the choice you make. Oh, that you would choose life, so that you and your descendants might live!”  Wow….we can choose!  And the choices are the differences between blessings and curses!  I don’t know about you, but I think I’d rather choose blessings!

If you missed my poem yesterday, go read it….it tells how to choose.  Grab hold of Jesus.  In Him we have all the strength we need!

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wal-Mart

  1. Amy says:

    Wow! Ouch! But well said.
    And also, I just left there with three bags, lightly filled for 67 DOLLARS!!!! What is wrong with that place!!!!

  2. Sarah says:

    Thank you, Leigh! You have always been amazing inspiration, through God, and a wonderful, uplifting person!

Leave a Reply

