He Ain’t Heavy

Last year, my girl was on a competitive cheer team.  It was something she and her best friend did together.  Surprisingly enough, I enjoyed the competitions.  It was fun watching the kids AND (bonus!) I got to hang out with my best friend!  Cheer wasn’t in the plan for us this year.  However, her best friend changed teams and has continued to cheer….and does a really good job.  My girl manages to make it to quite a few competitions, but I rarely do.  When the opportunity came up today, I jumped at the chance!  I enjoyed watching the girl’s best friend cheer (she’s really quite good!) and really enjoyed time with my bestie.  But, that’s really not what the blog is about.

At the end of the competition, they have award ceremonies.  As we were waiting for it to start, I happened to look up just in time to see one girl giving another a piggy back ride.  Well, that’s not really that big of a deal.  Those girls are always carrying each other around (including my girl and her best).  But, this was different.  The girl being carried had a bandage on her knee.  I noticed the girl doing the carrying was extremely gentle when she sat her buddy down.  It touched me how carefully she eased her to the floor.  Which got me to thinking….

Sometimes, in life, we get hurt.  People hurt us.  Circumstances hurt us.  Sometimes, we hurt ourselves.  Not intentionally, but as we’ve discussed, intentions don’t always matter when you hurt.  Those girls today made me think of how important it is to carry our hurt brothers and sisters.  Honestly, it made me think of the song, “He Ain’t Heavy, He’s My Brother.”  So…I googled the lyrics.  Of course.  Here they are….

The road is long With many a winding turn That leads us to who knows where Who knows where
But I’m strong Strong enough to carry him He ain’t heavy, he’s my brother So on we go
His welfare is of my concern No burden is he to bear We’ll get there
For I know He would not encumber me He ain’t heavy, he’s my brother
If I’m laden at all I’m laden with sadness That everyone’s heart Isn’t filled with the gladness Of love for one another
It’s a long, long road From which there is no return While we’re on the way to there Why not share
And the load Doesn’t weigh me down at all He ain’t heavy he’s my brother
He’s my brother He ain’t heavy, he’s my brother He ain’t heavy, he’s my brother

I’m pretty sure I never knew all the lyrics.  I was a bit surprised to find that they were so….caring!  Ya know, the Bible says, “Carry each other’s burdens, and in this way you will fulfill the law of Christ.”  (Galatians 6:2, NIV).  Some of the versions of the Bible say “bear” rather than “carry.”  That’s exactly what that song is talking about.  Bearing burdens.  Carrying your brother (or sister!) when he or she can’t make it on their own.  It’s not often that we’re going to run into a situation where a person will actually need us to carry them, so I got to thinking about what it means in everyday life to carry each other’s burdens.

Life is hard.  In the Bible, James assured us that we would have trials.  (Read it!  Short book and good stuff in there.)  If we’re really fortunate, our friends aren’t going through trials when we are.  Life is seasonal.  You may be in a good place while I’m in a bad place.  I’m pretty sure God does that on purpose.  That way, you can help me.  When I’m doing better, I can help someone else.

I challenge you today to look around you and see who needs help bearing a burden.  It may be as simple as an encouraging word or text or phone call.  They may need a prayer warrior.  They may need physical help – like, grass cutting, grocery shopping, laundry.  Or maybe they just need an ear to listen, a hand to hold or a shoulder to cry on.  Whatever it may be, God will give you the grace and wisdom and strength to step up and fulfill whatever need He reveals to you.

And if you’re the one who needs the helping hand?  Be willing to accept the help that God sends your way!

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to He Ain’t Heavy

  1. meinwords says:

    I wasn’t really sure what “heavy” meant in those lyrics till now. :). Now I get it. Besides that, I’ve had a growing conviction to start a ministry just as you described…a ministry that simply carries burdens, just meeting needs. Thanks for posting.

Leave a Reply

