Shame

So….I had an interesting happening recently.  But, before I tell you, I need everyone who’s perfect to please raise their hand.  Thank you.  You may leave.  This blog isn’t for you.  Now that it’s just us normal human people, I’ll go on.  A friend shared a piece of her not-so-pretty past with me.  I was honored to be trusted with the information.  And chose to love her through the telling (which was done by text) because that was what she needed.  When I saw her, though, she wouldn’t look at me.  And told me not to look at her.

Wow.  Shame is powerful, isn’t it?  Sometimes we carry shame that was never really ours to carry.  Maybe it came from a hard childhood or a mistake someone else made in our lives.  Other times though,  our shame is legitimate. We make mistakes.  Sometimes really BIG mistakes.  We hurt people.  We hurt ourselves.  And then we carry the guilt of that hurt until we get the memo that God really doesn’t want us to live this way.  Oh wait….what was that???  Yep….keep reading….

When we have sinned (and we all know what sin is, so I’m not gonna elaborate), our God is merciful and will convict our hearts.  It is an uncomfortable feeling, but definitely has its purpose.  God loves us.  And wants us to love Him and live with Him in eternity.  Sin keeps us from Him.  He is perfect and can not coexist with sin.  I don’t care who tells you what.  Search the scriptures – they are pretty clear.  I’m just going to throw one scripture out tonight that I think sums it up, because that’s not really the point of this post.  Psalm 24:3-4a says, “Who may ascend into the hill of the Lord? Or who may stand in His holy place? He who has clean hands and a pure heart.”  See….pretty plain.

Now….let’s talk about a different kind of shame.  We know that we are to repent when we know we have sinned.  Repent means to turn away from.  So, whatever you did, don’t do it again!  We also need to ask forgiveness from God.  He is a good, loving, merciful, graceful God.  He forgives.  But….we can never forget about the enemy of our souls.  Yep, that lying serpent.  John 8:44b says, “When he lies, he speaks his native language, for he is a liar and the father of lies.”  In Revelation 12:10, the devil is called the accuser of the brethren.  Beloved, if you belong to God, then you are brethren.  And that means the father of lies is accusing you.  God has no ear to hear satan’s lies, but guess who does???  Us.

Oh yes, the devil speaks to us.  It may sound a little bit like this….”that was too big to be forgiven.”  “You don’t deserve to be loved.”  “No one will be able to look past that mistake.”  “God hasn’t forgiven you.”  He comes armed with guilt and fear to help reinforce his lies.  Then he sits back and watches us torment ourselves.

I’m here to tell you today that it’s time to lay it down!  If God can forgive you, then who do you think you are to hang onto what He has cast into the sea of forgetfulness?  God is love.  Jesus came to give us life more abundant – not fear and guilt and lifelong shame.  A couple of my favorite verses are Psalm 34:4-5.  They say, “I sought the Lord, and He answered me and delivered me from all my fears.  Those who look to Him are radiant and their faces shall never be ashamed.”  Well, that seems pretty clear to me.  Never ashamed.  Praise God for His Word and His promises!

Been carrying a burden too long?  Today is your day!  Lay it down at the feet of Jesus and tell satan to buzz off!  And when he comes back to remind you about what you’ve done, remind him about what Jesus did!  You’ll be glad you did.

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shame

  1. I’m reading back in your archives and enjoying it. This one in particulare touches my heart today. thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

