Big Words

I love words!  Which, of course, makes perfect sense seeing that I seem to be a writer.  I have always loved words.  In my younger days, when I had the brain cells to spare, I used to read the dictionary (okay….I still do….just not as often!), read voraciously (anything I could get my hands on) and would skip straight to the word puzzles in any book – especially Readers Digest!  I loved their article each month that tested your vocabulary and would get very upset if I scored anything below excellent!  Since I am such a word person, I tend to use the words I learn.  Seems reasonable, right??  Well, it is…if the person you’re talking to understands the words you’re saying.  My children both have an impressive vocabulary, simply because I talk to them like I do everyone else.   But, sometimes, I find myself having to explain or find a substitute word.  Especially if I’m angry!  That’s when the big words tend to really spew out.  But, it’s no good using an amazing word to drive home the point that, of course, you’re right…if the person doesn’t understand what you’re saying.  As it is with spiritual truths.

I know people who can quote entire books of the Bible.  Very impressive!  I would like to learn James.  Sadly, I have thus far chosen to not use my brain cells to do so.  God’s Word doesn’t return void, so it’s always good to have scripture written in your heart.  But (you knew it was coming, didn’t you???).  If you are spouting off scripture to someone who has no understanding of the Bible, you may be wasting your breath.  It may be like me throwing out one of my ten-dollar words in an argument.  It sounds good, but is completely unproductive.

Now, I’m not saying you shouldn’t;’t uses scripture, so don’t be yelling at me.  Of course you should know and quote scripture – it’s God’s love letter to us!  Don’t you have parts of other love letters memorized???  I do!  I save cards and texts and notes that speak love to me so that I can pull them out and enjoy them over and over.  But, I also carry the memory of the words in my head.  When someone who loves me cares enough to write it down, I assure you, I’m going to remember!  So, yes, scripture memorization is important.  What’s more important though, is the love with which you speak it and spelling it out so that your audience can understand.

Unless you’re me, you’re probably not going to speak to a two-year old like you would an adult, right?  Well, those who aren’t saved or are newly saved are like babes.  They need it spoken in ways they can understand.  It’s all well and good to quote some good scripture by Paul to them, but if you want them to understand, you may want to start with somebody a little simpler.  Like the gospels.  Those guys really spelled it out plainly.  There’s plenty of time later to tackle Paul!

I challenge you to reach out to someone today and speak in their own language.  Sometimes, “Jesus loves you,” is just enough to start them on the path to His truths.

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

