My Baby!

This morning, as I was still sitting in bed drinking my coffee, my phone rang.  I looked at the display and my heart dropped.  It was my baby girl.  And she had left for school only fifteen minutes earlier.  I quickly answered it, apprehensive about what I would hear.  It was the sound every mom hates – a sobbing child.  You see, she’s only been driving a few months.  She is a very good driver and I’m confident in her ability.  But, she drives I-85 and I-77 to school every morning – roads that some grown women, seasoned drivers are afraid to tackle.  My heart broke before I ever heard what was wrong.  With everything in me, I wanted to be by her side, holding her and fixing whatever the problem was.  Turns out that it could have been far worse.  She had a blow out and had to pull to the side of the road.  (Thank God for His protection!).  But, it made me think….

If you are born again, you are God’s child.  Jesus’ joint heir.  God is our Daddy!  In Matthew 7:11, Jesus said, “If you then, being evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father who is in heaven give what is good to those who ask Him!”  Now, I know that this isn’t exactly the context, but I don’t think I’m stretching it out of proportion.  If we, being evil, love our children so completely that we’d do absolutely anything for them and never want them to hurt, how much more so must God love us?

Tracking yet?  Let me help.  I’ve had a hard week.  I know I’m not all by myself – everyone has troubles of their own.  But, when I cry out to my Daddy, He rushes to my side!  Better than that, though, is this:  He knew ahead of time what my trouble would be!  He wasn’t taken by surprise.  He had the plan for my trouble worked out long before I was even thought of!  Oh my goodness!  Does that excite you like it does me?  So often, I think we forget that we serve the Omnipotent, Omniscient God Who created the universe.  Do we really think our problems are hard for Him?  No.  I don’t think so either.

Sometimes, though, we just have to go through it.  Ouch.  But, think about it.  Haven’t you ever seen your child in a tough spot and all you could do is support and love them through it?  Maybe it was a lesson they had to learn or maybe they needed to learn to trust God on their own.  Either way, it’s hard.  I think God feels the same way when we’re going through a thing that we simply must go through.  Think about Jesus.  He was so concerned about going to the cross that He was sweating blood and crying out to God that He really didn’t want to do this!  But, “Your will be done” was His prayer.  So it is with us.  Sometimes, the best we can do is cling to the promise that God will never leave us or forsake us and remember that if He’s allowing us to go through something, it is useful for us in His Kingdom.

So….how about you?  Are you having a rotten week?  Are you going through a trial you’d rather skip?  Hang onto Jesus!  It’ll be done soon.  Or are you having an amazing week and things couldn’t be better?  Hang onto Jesus anyway and pray for the rest of us!

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Baby!

  1. I must be hard-hearted. I won’t do absolutely everything for my family because I think it’s better for them to do things for themselves. (You likely believe this, too.) Maybe I’d like to meet every one of their needs, but if you do everything for your child he”ll grow up thinking he’s the center of the universe. He will grow old expecting you to always jump to meet his needs. Like the forty-something son who ordered his close-to-eighty mother to “Get me a drink of water.”

Leave a Reply

