Watch the Teacher!

Today, I got to go to one of my favorite places – the Lazy 5 Ranch – with one of my favorite people – the best friend – and her K4 class.  I love kids.  I love animals.  I love the best friend.  It was a good day!  The class is small (only eight children), so the three adults on the trip really had no trouble keeping up with the kids.  Well, mostly.  At one point, she had them holding hands to get them to the next place.  We were walking close to large groups of children and, oddly enough, kids seem to follow kids whether it’s the group they belong to or not!  So, we had four pairs of kids and three adults.  No problem, right???  Well, things don’t always go as planned…

Let me try to set the scene.  We were walking on a road/path that cars use but people use more.  A large class was streaming our way just to the left of us.  So, of course, we moved right.  We do live in America, we travel on the right side of the road.  A pair of our kids was more focused on I-don’t-know-what rather than the teacher.  I, however, was close to them and watching.  “This way, guys,” I was saying.  They seemed oblivious.  The boy member of the pair was bent on moving left.  The problem was the approaching very large class.  I quickly noticed that I had the girl’s attention, but she couldn’t divert the boy.  Whatever had his attention was capturing it completely and he had everything else tuned out.  Finally, I managed to get to him, grab his hand and redirect him.  Trust me, four- and five-year old boys don’t like having their hands held.  It was sufficient punishment!  And, we narrowly avoided a collision.

It made me think of this verse….”Two are better than one because they have a good return for their labor.”  Ecclesiates 4:9, NASB.  For my illustration, I think I prefer the way the NLT puts it, “Two people are better off than one, for they can help each other succeed.”  So true!  We need each other!  We need a helper, a partner.  God can send us so many different people to fill that role in our life: friends, spouses, parents, siblings, brothers and sisters in Christ….the list is long.  This person, if in tune with God, will be invaluable in your life to help you pray through and stay on the right path.  But…

Sometimes, your partner will be like the little boy in my story.  Remember, he got so enthralled by something else, that he could no longer see where his teacher was leading him?  Sometimes, we can get ourselves hooked up with the wrong people.  If we’re not paying close attention, we can get sidetracked from the path we should be on.  Look at who you’re associating with.  Are they on the right path?  If not, think the relationship through carefully.  They could easily lead you astray also.  There’s a reason the cliché “Birds of a feather flock together” came into being.

So….look around.  Look at the people you’ve chosen to live your life with.  Are they leading the lives you want to lead?  More importantly, are they leading the lives God wants them to lead?  If so, you’re fine.  Just make sure you’re not the boy walking the wrong way!  If not, rethink the relationships.  Prayerfully consider if this is someone God wants in your life.  I’m not saying walk away from them!  I’m simply saying to be sure they’re supposed to be there to begin with.  And….keep your eyes on the Teacher – He’ll never lead you astray!

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

