Constant Communication

A long time ago, I was a relatively friendless soul.  So lonely.  I had friends from school that I’d lost contact with.  I had work friends who were that only.  But, I didn’t have any “real” friends.  So, I prayed for one.  Yes, just one.  God has been good.  As He has changed and grown me, He has added many friends to my life.  Obviously, some are closer than others.  There are friends who I see at church only.  There are friends I see at work only.  I have friends from high school who I see a few times a year, but we communicate on Facebook.  Then, I have close friends.

You know, the thing about friends is this….the closer you are, the more you know about each other.  Yes, I know….duh, Leigh.  But, stick with me, this really is going somewhere!  I love knowing what’s going on in the everyday life of my friends….well, my close ones.  And I have one friend who is the same way.  She and I text all during the day.  At any given time, we can pretty much tell you what the other one is doing.  Those pesky jobs of ours slow us down a bit, but we still manage to communicate some during those times.  And, while some people may find that smothering or annoying, she and I love it!  It works for us.  And rarely do we have to ask, “what are you doing?”  Because, well, we already know!  The big, the little, the important, the irrelevant….they all get communicated.

Right about now, you’re rolling your eyes and wondering why on earth I thought this was important enough to blog about.  Guess what!  I’m getting ready to tell you!

I am in the middle of some important decisions right now.  And I’m up in the air on most of them.  I am simply waiting on God to clue me in on my next step.  As I expressed this to a friend, she said, “you’ll know what to do.”  Hmmm.  One of the situations I’ve got going on, I don’t know from one minute to the next, it seems, what I’m supposed to do.  I wait on God to nudge me, then I do it.  The only way that can happen is if I’m in constant communication with Him.  You know….kinda like how I text the friend all day.  I never need to ask, “God, what now?” because if I’m walking with Him, talking with Him, praying without ceasing, then I’ve been in constant companionship and communication with Him and I just know what to do.  Now, I’m not saying I’m great at this.  I fail sometimes because I’m horribly human.  But, the parallel between the texting and my relationship with Him truly hit home.  If I’m “texting” God all day, I know where He is and what He’s doing.  And that’s the key.  Know what He’s doing and join Him.  “His revelation is His invitation.”  (Henry Blackaby)

So….what about you?  Are you staying close enough to God that He can just speak to your heart or are you having to constantly go back to Him and say “what now?”  1 Thessalonians 5:17 says, “Pray without ceasing.” (KJV)  That means ALL THE TIME!  Proverbs 3:6 says, “In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.” (KJV)  Hmmm….in ALL thy ways.  And Isaiah 58:11 says, “And the LORD will continually guide you, And satisfy your desire in scorched places, And give strength to your bones; And you will be like a watered garden, And like a spring of water whose waters do not fail.” (NASB)  Continually.  Okay….anybody besides me see a theme here?  Stay in contact with God all the time, continually and He’s gonna tell you what to do.

Whew!  What a relief!  I don’t have to “figure it out” after all!  God is going to guide me!  Yay!

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

