What’s The Difference?

Are you familiar with the story of the five loaves and two fishes?  I think most of us are.  In fact, I think we’ve heard it so often, that we no longer wonder over it like we once did.  To refresh your memory, Jesus was teaching a crowd of people.  The Bible says 5000….but that was just the men.  There were also women and children present.  So, if every man only brought one person, it was at least 10,000 people.  But, that number, in my opinion, is basically irrelevant.  The disciples came to Jesus and basically told him that the people were hungry and He needed to let them go eat.  Jesus told the disciples to feed them.  At that point, I’m thinking those men looked at Jesus like he was crazy.  It was impossible.  So, Jesus told them to find what food they could in the crowd.  They showed up with five loaves and two fish.  A little boy’s lunch.  Okay….in John 6, the NASB refers to him as a lad.  Anyway, the point was, he was young and gave what he had.  Jesus took that lunch and blessed it.  They fed everyone and took up 12 baskets of leftovers!  A miracle!  Just one of so many that in John 21:25, John makes the point that if all the miracles were recorded, there wouldn’t be enough books to contain it.

I have witnessed a miracle this week!  A little girl with a huge heart gave what she could.  It wasn’t much….or probably didn’t seem like much.  But, her willing, compassionate heart wanted to do what she could.  You see, she lost her grandfather to cancer in December and was still brokenhearted.  Then, she had learned that a friend at church had cancer and her insurance wouldn’t cover the bills.  She couldn’t sit by and do nothing.  So, she decided to make bows.  At $1 each, I’m certain no one though she would raise much, but friends and family rallied round and supported her.  In less than a week, she had made over $1600.  Then, the media heard about it.  She was on TV this morning and was also on the front page of the local newspaper.  Both news outlets gave information on how a person could give to this very worthy cause.  I look forward to hearing how God is going to bless ribbon, glue and hard work and turn it into a financial miracle!

The faith of a child.  You know, that’s what both these stories highlight.  Faith and obedience.  Both gave what they could, no matter how meager it might’ve seemed to anyone else.

Let me ask you this….how often do you refuse to give because you think your gift would be too small?  I know I’m guilty.  Jesus said we should have the faith of a child.  What that means to me right this second is this….no matter how small my “gift” may seem at the time, if I’m moved to offer it, I need to do so.  What gift have you withheld lately?  A dollar, five dollars, ten dollars?  A hug?  A prayer?  A smile?  Whatever it is, if you thought, “I should (fill in the blank)” but didn’t, you missed an opportunity to become a part of someone’s miracle.

I’m going to end this with a challenge.  Go.  Do.  Whatever your little something is, do it.  Give your meager gift and see how God will bless it!  Have the faith of a child!

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

Oh….and if you’d like to help sweet Raemy Wensil help her friend, here’s their info….and a link to see her in the news.

Team Joyce
317 Alexis High Shoals Road
Dallas, NC 28034

http://www.wcnc.com/news/local/Lincoln-Co-girl–213102191.html

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

