Hidden Treasure

Recently, I was at a friend’s house and noticed something unusual.  There was an envelope with her name and address.  I know, you’re asking what’s so unusual about that.  Well, it was an envelope like you’d put a letter in and the name and address were handwritten.  In this day and age of computers and phones and text messages and Facebook and Twitter and….well, you get the picture….that is definitely unusual.  Her counter was devoid of any other stuff, so the envelope caught….and kept…my attention.  If you know me, you know that I am quite curious.  And again, the fact that few people send handwritten anythings made it so much more intriguing to me.  At any rate, I couldn’t pass it without looking at it and wondering.  What did it contain?  A love letter?  Secret treasure?  A dear John letter?  A map to a hidden treasure?  Haha….as you can see, my imagination can get away with me very quickly!

It made me think, though.  That is exactly how we should feel about our Bibles.  How often do you gaze at the Word of God and wonder what treasure He has in it for you today?  How often do you wait expectantly for that moment when you can flip through the pages and search out the nuggets of wisdom or love or peace that you need to get you through your day?  I can’t speak for you, but I can tell you that I’m not nearly curious enough about God’s Word!  Don’t get me wrong.  I love the Word, but I don’t take the time to read it as much as I should.  I don’t have as much of it memorized as I should.  I often fill my mind with spiritual  junk food instead of taking in the good stuff He has for me.

So….this is a challenge….be more curious!  About God’s Word, I mean.  Mine it every day for treasure.  Soak it in and let it do the work in your heart it was meant to do.  And feel free to hold me accountable to do the same!

Your word have I laid up in my heart, that I might not sin against You.  Psalm 119:11

Sky and earth will pass away, but My words will not pass away.  Matthew 24:35

All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness.  2 Timothy 3:16

Oh….and the envelope?  Well, it did have a bit of treasure in it.  A gift from God to me, delivered through a precious, dear, obedient friend.  God is good all the time!

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hidden Treasure

  1. Audrey says:

    Amen and amen dear sister!

Leave a Reply

