Surprise!

A few nights ago, I was at the in-laws house, celebrating my mother-in-law’s birthday.  And, I just have to say, I know that mothers-in-law become the butt of many jokes, but mine is great!  I’m so thankful to God for her.  So, no MIL jokes here.  Rabbit trail over.  So…we were at the in-laws house and the movie Elf came on.  I love that movie.  If you’re not familiar with it, it’s about a human baby that Santa found and allowed one of his elves to raise as an elf.  Thing is, he was human-sized, not elf-sized and couldn’t do the things the elves were gifted at doing – like making and testing toys.  One of the scenes we watched was of Elf testing Jack-in-the-boxes.  You know, the old toys that you crank the handle, the music “Pop Goes The Weasel” plays, then a clown-type thing pops out.  Well, Elf was surprised and scared every single time the toy popped open.  Will Ferrell, who plays Elf, did a great job of portraying it and I can’t watch it without cracking up!

And, of course, my brain saw it a bit differently.  God has done some amazing things for me lately!  Some things just to remind me that He knows, He hears, He sees and He hasn’t forgotten me.  I need you to know that I desperately needed those reminders!  Sometimes, life just gets hard and we humans have short memories.  One of the things He did for me was big – in more ways than one.  I was shocked!  Amazed!  Overwhelmed!  And oh-so-thankful!

But…it occurred to me that we can be like Elf.  We have been promised that God is with us, He is for us, He will never leave or forsake us, He is our provider…and so much more.  Yet, when we call out to Him for a miracle – and He delivers it! – often, we are shocked.  Wow, are we so faithless that we can’t just count on God to show up without being surprised every single time?

I don’t know where you are in life or what you might be praying for, but I’m here to remind you of a few things.  Our God keeps His promises!  He is an on-time God, never early and never late.  He loved us enough to send His son to die on a cross, so He definitely loves us enough to deliver us from whatever mess we’re in.  And He created the world in six days, so He has the power to do whatever needs to be done.  I think we can quit being surprised now.

I could use a lot of scriptures to tie in with this, but the one rolling in my spirit this morning is this,And we know thatGod causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose.”  Romans 8:28 NASB

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

