Justice For Trayvon

Keep Reading!  It’s not what you think!

I have listened to both sides of the Martin/Zimmerman case only vaguely.  Don’t get me wrong, it’s not that I don’t care.  It’s that I don’t really trust what I’m reading.  According to the Trayvon side, he was an upstanding young man who meant no harm and Zimmerman was a trigger-happy cop wanna be.  The other side of the argument says that Zimmerman feared for his community, for his life and Trayvon was a thug.  I don’t know that I have an opinion other than this – a young man is dead, another man will be forever marked, two families have been destroyed, an entire community is shaken and our country has, once again, been split over racial issues.  Honestly, the verdict in the trial was inconsequential – no one won.  Well….except the enemy.

You didn’t think I wouldn’t see a spiritual parallel here, did you?

The enemy of our souls is none other than the devil himself.  We have a retired Church of God pastor in our congregation who refers to satan as Tally Bogus.  I LOVE that name!  So, today, that is what I shall call him!

Tally Bogus knows his time is short.  I don’t believe you can be a Bible-believing follower of Christ without seeing the signs clearly.  Since his time is short, he is fighting for all he’s worth.  Yes, he loses in the end.  He knows he loses.  So, his goal is to take as many with him to the pit of fire that he can.  How does he do it?  He lies.  He steals.  He divides.  John 10:10 says,The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy;”  (NIV)  And that is precisely what he has done in cases like Martin-Zimmerman.

As Christians, we need to wake up and recognize the enemy’s tactics.  He really doesn’t have much to go on.  He’s basically a smoke and mirrors kind of dude.  God has given us everything we need to fight him.  Ephesians 6:10-18 says,

“Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power. Put on the full armor of God, so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes. For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powersof this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms. Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand. Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place,and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace. In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one. Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit,which is the word of God. (NIV)

There it is.  In black and white.  Plain and simple.  We’re not fighting each other, as it seems.  We are battling something much more sinister than people – we’re battling Tally Bogus and his demons.  But, in Christ, we have all we need to fight and win.

So….how do you feel about the Martin/Zimmerman case?  Are you angry?  Hurt?  Confused?  Or are you on the other side of the fence?  Either way, I submit to you that the enemy wants to divide our families, our friendships, our churches, our communities, our very nation.  We can continue getting incensed and throwing arguments and hate talk around or we can do something about it.

I would say that the answer is what I always come back to: LOVE.  Yep.  You know…I talk about it a lot.  It’s all we’re really called to do.  Love God.  Love each other.  When we truly learn how to do that, I don’t think race is going to be an issue at all in this great nation of ours.  We will truly be One Nation Under God.

Be blessed and tell someone you love them.

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Justice For Trayvon

  1. Paula W. Roland says:

    Again a ‘home run!”

Leave a Reply

