Seasons Change

So, I’ve been thinking a lot about seasons lately.  According to the calendar, we’re in summer, but the weather has been very springlike.  Today, however, mother nature must’ve checked the calendar because we were a scorching 97 degrees here in Charlotte!  The one great thing about seasons is this, they’re going to change!  Hate summer?  Heat and bugs getting you?  Cheer up, autumn is on its way.  Don’t like autumn, well, hang on, winter is right behind it.  Cold weather bother you?  Well, next there’s spring.  Then we’re back to summer.  And, yes, I can feel a whole lot of you roll your eyes at me.  But, keep reading, there’s a point here.  Seasons happen in our lives also.

If I’ve learned anything at all in this life, it’s this – hang on, change is coming!  No matter what season of life you’re in, it’s going to change.  People move in and out of your life.  Jobs change.  You move.  Children come along and grow up way too quickly.  Before you know it, you’re a grandparent.  Babies are born, people die.  It’s the natural order of things to be in constant flux.  In fact, if you’re not changing at all, I think there may be a problem.

Recently, I had the occasion to be in Robbinsville, NC at a tiny cabin perched on the side of a mountain.  I was convinced that one good thunderstorm was going to wash that little cabin down the hill.  Thankfully, I was wrong!  The next morning, in the daylight, I noticed a flower that had been beat down by the rain, but was still looking pretty.  I ooohed and ahhhed over it, then looked a little more closely.  It wasn’t real.  It was silk.  I felt a bit dumb, but God used that flower to remind me about seasons and change.

You see, we are supposed to be like trees or vines.  We’re referred to that way by Jesus Himself in John 15.  He calls Himself the True Vine and we are attached to Him.  Well, think about trees and vines and flowers.  Do they bloom year round?  No, they are seasonal.  Yes, some of them have longer or shorter seasons, but they’re in a constant state of change.  As it should be with us.  In fact, what the Lord spoke to my heart that morning was this….if a person ALWAYS looks the same, always seems to be in the same place with Him, never falters and never grows….that person may not have a true relationship with the Father.

I’ll use myself as an example.  I am horribly, terribly, chronically human.  I want with everything in me to be the woman God wants me to be.  But, sometimes I fail.  Other times, though, I feel so close to Him I wonder why I’m still on earth.  When I read the writings of the Psalmists, (especially David), I find that they felt the same way.  Life is seasonal.  We will have growing seasons and resting seasons.  We may even have seasons where we feel like God has given up on us and we’re not sure we’re His anymore.  But, He is faithful and lovingly restores His children.

Why am I writing this?  I don’t know.  Maybe because I’ve had some seasonal changes in my life lately.  Things are not what I thought they would be.  As I’ve seen on Facebook, “This is not the life I ordered!”  However, I know God has a plan for me and is working it all out to my good…in due season.

How about you?  Are you in a season you wish would change?  Be patient, it will.  Do what you know to do and wait.  God’s not done!

To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven.  Ecclesiastes 3:1

For I know the plans that I have for you,’ declares the LORD, ‘plans for welfare and not for calamity to give you a future and a hope.  Jeremiah 29:11

And we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose.  Romans 8:28

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

