More Beautiful Than You Think

So, I was reminded today of a video I first saw several months ago.  The video was put out by Dove.  In it, a number of women were asked to come sit behind a curtain.  The women did not know what they were doing there or who was on the other side of the curtain.  The who on the other side was a forensic artist – he began asking them questions about their faces and sketched what they described.  Then, each woman was to spend time talking with a stranger.  The stranger later gave a description of the woman they spent time with to the sketch artist.  Time after time, the women’s descriptions of themselves were much less attractive than the strangers’ descriptions.  The tag line at the end of the video was, “You are more beautiful than you think.”

What an important message for women to receive right now!  Our society has placed so much emphasis on beauty.  Sadly, true beauty often gets overlooked in the media.  The self-esteem of normal women takes a beating every day as they gaze at the airbrushed faces and bodies on magazines and commercials.  Oddly enough, even though we all have the knowledge that little of what we see is real, still we seem to compare ourselves to these fake images.  We are trying to mimic something that is actually a lie.

As Christian women, we can also get in the habit of trying to live up to a spiritual image that is a lie.  Maybe, when we look at other women around us, they seem to have it all together.  Maybe you think the pastor’s wife is perfect.  Maybe you’ve read about the Proverbs 31 woman and are taking it as a literal standard.  In any case, I believe one of satan’s greatest lies to women is that were not good enough.  He then sets an impossible standard for us to achieve and beats us up when we miss the mark.  Just as women trying to look like airbrushed models, we are looking at these models of what we perceive to be perfect Christian women and are trying to mimic a lie.

No one is perfect.  Yes, I know the Bible said Job was.  But, I didn’t know him…did you?  Jesus is perfect.  But, we are not.  We are human.  And fallible.  We will make mistakes.  We will fall.  We will fail.  The point is not how often we mess up, but what is in our hearts.  God looks at the heart.  And He sees the truth of it.  He sees past our shortcomings and failures and misgivings and insecurities and sees how we feel about Him and how we feel about each other.  My friend, if you are living your life to serve God, even if you fail, He sees your heart and it is beautiful to Him.  Quit comparing yourself to the false image the devil has set for you!  I believe God would say to His daughters, “Your heart is more beautiful than you think.”

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

And in case you haven’t seen the video, check it out… http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XpaOjMXyJGk

 

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

