Not My Plan

I’ve been thinking. Yes, dangerous! But…I can’t help it! So, I’ve been thinking about those times in our lives that it feels like we’ve waited forever for a thing and it seems we may never get it. I’ve been there, more than once. I don’t know about you, but sometimes I’m a spoiled brat and I want what I want and I want it now! (Said with lip out and arms akimbo, while stomping my foot). Sometimes the thing we want simply isn’t good for us and our Heavenly Father protects us by saying no. But, there are times that the desire is planted in our hearts by God himself and we simply have to wait on his timing. (Yes, the dreaded waiting!). The verses that have helped me through that time of waiting are,
4 Delight yourself in the Lord,
and he will give you the desires of your heart.
5 Commit your way to the Lord;
trust in him, and he will act.
6 He will bring forth your righteousness as the light,
and your justice as the noonday.
7 Be still before the Lord and wait patiently for him;
fret not yourself over the one who prospers in his way,
over the man who carries out evil devices!
8 Refrain from anger, and forsake wrath!
Fret not yourself; it tends only to evil.
9 For the evildoers shall be cut off,
but those who wait for the Lord shall inherit the land.
10 In just a little while, the wicked will be no more;
though you look carefully at his place, he will not be there.
11 But the meek shall inherit the land
and delight themselves in abundant peace.
. Psalm 37:4-11

Did you catch it? The keys to the waiting are held in those verses. The first (and most important, in my opinion) thing is to delight yourself in The Lord. Webster’s defines delight as “to take great pleasure.” So…take pleasure in spending time with your Heavenly Father-enjoy Him, His presence, don’t just sit around waiting for Him to give you something!
Next, commit your way to Him. You know, ask His opinion on what to do and listen when He tells you. Don’t leave God out of your decision-making. Third, be still. Ouch. I think that means quit stomping my foot! And, spend quiet time with Him. Lastly, refrain from anger. See…here’s the thing…it always seems like all the heathens are living it up while we, the children of the King, are suffering. Don’t get mad. Trust that God is going to take care of them and you!
All of God’s promises are true! He will do what He says He will do. I’ve found, though, that sometimes when He delivers the desire of your heart, it doesn’t look exactly like you expected it to. The packaging may be a little-or a lot!-different from what you had envisioned. I’ve also found that God’s gifts are always better than what we can dream up for ourselves!
I have a very dear friend experiencing that right now. She recently turned her heart and life back over to God and now He has answered a couple of her most fervent prayers. Let me assure you, though, that the answers look far different from what she imagined! And, she is reveling in the fact that they are way better than what she asked for! And together, we are rejoicing in what The Lord had done for her!
So…where are you right now? Still waiting? Don’t give up hope, your answer is just around the corner and so much better than what you can imagine!
Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Not My Plan

  1. This is a very good article. I’ve just come through a season of waiting myself–may am still in it– and it’s good to know that the Lord has these times in His hands, meaning them for my good.

Leave a Reply

