Changing Weather

A week or two ago, I wrote about seasons and how they change. Well, I’ve had some seriously shifting weather patterns in my life in the last six months. It’s been the best of times, the worst of times. But, through it all, my God has remained faithful! He has been my Provider, my Sustainer, my Peace, my Comfort, my Joy, my Friend, my Daddy. In the midst of utter chaos, He has remained steadfast. He truly is the Rock and I can not imagine my life without Him firmly at the center of it.

Six months ago, I received an emotionally devastating blow. It was unexpected and completely blindsided me. It was proof that the enemy truly was roaming and seeking whom he may devour. Truthfully, for a while there, I was afraid he would win. (Yes, I lose faith too sometimes!). However, God has once again taken what the devil meant for destruction and turned it to good.

You see, the day after I received that hurtful swipe from the devil, I went on a job interview. It was with a man I’ve worked with several times over the years, a friend who was instrumental in getting my sweet husband and I together. He had called, out of the blue, to offer me a job. The timing was perfect-I had just had surgery and would be ready to start work at the exact time the job would be open. In His graciousness, God had made it so that my surgery was much less invasive than originally planned, because my insurance refused the second part of the surgery that I so desperately wanted. If I had gotten the other procedure, I could not have taken the job. Okay, rabbit trail over, back to the story.

When I walked into the interview that day, I was a broken woman. But, life goes on, so I pasted a smile on my face and went in with the best attitude I could conjure up, trusting God to hold my broken pieces together. I was greeted warmly by my old friend, then he told me to hold on a minute-he wanted the assistant manager in on the interview, since the Floral department was her responsibility. Little did I know that, at that very second, God was working a change in my weather pattern!

After a short wait, the assistant manager showed up-full of smiles and laughter. We hit it off immediately and I remember thinking then, “yeah…I can work with her.” My first week was spent at a computer, training. Then, a week before Valentines Day, I was tossed into my department. Yes, the floral department a week before Valentines. We can all shudder together. Okay, moving on. Somehow, in the time between my being hired and Valentines Day, my department had been shifted to the care of another manager. However, the one who hired me, who I liked immediately, still came to help out during Valentines Day. I discovered I really liked her.

Weeks later, she took a four week medical leave. For some reason, I felt compelled to message her. To let her know that I was praying for a quick recovery. We messaged back and forth. Surprisingly enough, over that four weeks, we became friends. I didn’t mean to. I was determined when I started my new job, that I was not going to make friends, that I was not going to get close to anyone. I failed.

Soon after she returned from leave, the departments were shifted again and she was my boss again. The store manager told her that she should not, could not be overly friendly with her associates. No friends! Oops. Too late. By that point, we had gotten pretty close. So…we were quiet friends. Well, mostly. We took great pains to not broadcast the fact that we were friends.

Fast forward to today. Last Monday was my friend’s last day at Harris Teeter and today she started in her new position as store manager at Food Lion. God has blessed her with another job that perfectly suits her needs. It is bittersweet for me. I am thrilled that God is giving her the desire of her heart! But, I will miss seeing her everyday.  The hour between our homes seems like a lot more now.

So….why am I telling you this story?  Because seasons change.  I bet you’re in a change now.  If not, hang on, it’s coming.  In this short six months, I’ve gotten a job I love and an amazing new friend who blesses me daily.  I’ve been wounded by others who I never thought would hurt me.  I’ve been surprised by other folks who have come alongside me to help hold me up.  I’ve had health problems and I’ve had healing.  My finances are a wreck, but we haven’t gone without a thing.  Again, it’s been the best and the worst, with God at the center of it, holding me firmly.  And, here’s the important part….what God has done for me, He’ll do for you too!  Just hold tight to Him and His Word and His promises.  Your seasons might be changing, but He never changes!

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

