Keep on Keeping on

I live in Charlotte, NC, just a few miles away from downtown or uptown or whatever you want to call it.  We live close enough that we can see the tallest buildings of the skyline from our neighborhood.  Tonight, I had been visiting with a dear friend who lives about an hour away.  As I was traveling home on I-77, in the middle lane, I suddenly noticed the Bank of America building directly in front of me.  If you’re familiar with the skyline of Charlotte, then you know that the BofA building is the tallest in the city.  I was fascinated by the fact that it looked like if I simply stayed in the lane I was in for another few miles, I would arrive right at the front doors of that beautiful structure.  In reality, though, I would have to get off the interstate, travel another interstate, then take several other streets to get there.  Many of the streets in down….err….uptown Charlotte are one way, so that would be even more ground you would have to cover to get there.  There are also traffic lights, stop signs and the speed limit changes many times.  So….what seemed, at the time, like it should be so easy, isn’t really.  You’ll get there, but it won’t be in a straight line and you’ll lose sight of the building several times on your way.

Isn’t that just like life?  Think about the times the Lord has given you a vision or a plan.  I don’t know about you, but I get all excited when I have a clear view of His plan for me and I want to get there right NOW!  But, He has to prepare us for what He has for us.  The road often is filled with twists, turns, traffic lights and stop signs.  The speed limit changes – sometimes you’re speeding ahead and other times you’re creeping along at 25 MPH.  But, that doesn’t mean His plan has changed or you heard wrong.  It simply means you’re on your way.  And….here’s the hard part….He generally doesn’t give you a map of how to get there.  It’s all about trusting Him, one mile at a time.

So, what about you?  Have you lost sight of God’s plan for your life?  Have you been doubting what you knew you heard?  Just keep on keeping on.  His plan hasn’t changed.  He may be taking you the long way around, but His plan will stand….every. single. time.

The Lord will fulfill His purpose for me.  Psalm 138:8

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

