Just Being Real

I’ve been thinking lately.  Those closest to me will tell you that that’s not a good thing!  I recently was chastised for some of my more recent blog posts.  Because they weren’t as uplifting.  I believe the word used was “pointed.”  True.  My posts have been a little harsher, rougher around the edges.  I’ve had a rough year and my writing is an extension of me.  There’s no way to avoid it.  The problem with being a writer is this: my everything is on the line.  I put my very heart and soul into words, click “publish” and pray that somehow, it will help someone else.  Surely, the things I’ve gone through and the grace I’ve received in the midst of it will help someone!  At the end of the day, God is with me.  I can not imagine life without Him.  He is my Provider, my Sustainer, my Comforter, my Strength, my Shield.  It is because of Him that I’m still standing.  And my hope and prayer with each keystroke is that you, my readers, will see that and be encouraged to reach out to Him also.

This isn’t the first time I’ve been criticized for writing what my heart feels.  I’ve been told that my writing should only be edifying.  Sadly, that isn’t all the Lord calls me to write.  Sometimes, I get of glimpse of things that aren’t so obvious to everyone and He calls me to speak to those things.  Or sometimes, my heart hurts and He calls me to share my pain.  I don’t care for that kind of writing.  I like to be happy and joyful and uplifting.  I like to laugh and love and giggle and have fun.  But, sadly, life isn’t all fun and games.  Sometimes, it’s hard and it hurts and we make mistakes or we get caught in the throes of others’ mistakes.  Sometimes…life just stinks.

So…what if?  What if, when the Bible was written, only the good stuff was in it?  What if we didn’t know about David and Bathsheba?  What if we didn’t have the Psalms where David was wondering where God was, when in just the last Psalm he was praising God and thanking Him for His love, presence and faithfulness?  What if we didn’t know that Moses didn’t get to go to the Promised Land because of a temper tantrum?  What if we didn’t know that Aaron was sent with Moses only because of Moses’ disobedience and insistence that he couldn’t possibly do what God had called Him to do?  what if we didn’t know that before Jonah went to Ninevah, he ran away to Tarshish?  What if we didn’t know that Elijah was so afraid of Jezebel that he ran way from her and hid…even though he had just seen God send fire down to the altar AND send rain to end the drought?  What if we didn’t know that Thomas was a doubter?  What if we didn’t know that Peter had a temper?  What if we didn’t know that Paul used to be Saul, tormenter of Christians?

What if?  What if, indeed.  We wouldn’t truly know the depth of God’s grace and mercy and love.  We wouldn’t know that there’s life after heartache and pain and sin.  We wouldn’t know that God loves us…just as we are…but loves us too much to leave us there.

So.  Yes, my writing is a bit pointed right now.  But, if you’ll be patient with me, I’m sure it will be all sunshine and flowers and rainbows again.  And…truthfully….it will mean so much more then!  And, know this, until life is as pretty as I want it to be, I am loving and worshiping and praising God anyway.  To Him be all the glory!

Be blessed and show somebody some love!

 

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Just Being Real

  1. I remember once while on a church staff our senior pastor asked me to remove a post from my personal blog because it was too transparent. Everything we write is a part of our heart..allow yourself to be! If Job listened to his critics/friends he would’ve cursed God and never received the blessing.

  2. Anita L says:

    I have had he same thing said to me. That my story (stories) aren’t uplifting. Well, sorry….not. God called me to tell it like it is/was in order to minister to folks in the same boat. To let them know that He cared for me, He cares for you. Don’t ever stop writing, maam.

Leave a Reply

