Just a Little

You may know that I’m the floral manager at a grocery store.  Or you may not know.  Well, if you didn’t, you do now.  Anyway, I am the floral manager.  I adore my job!  Few places in a grocery store make people leave happy instead of grumpy.  How blessed am I that I get to work in one of those places?  The truth is, though, that my little corner is a tiny contributor to store sales.  Very tiny.  Almost negligible.  Which might make you think that it’s not very important.  But, I would say that my job is very important to those who seek out my corner of the store.  These folks are looking for balloons or flowers or plants.  They need them for birthdays, anniversaries, wedding and baby showers, weddings, memorial services, funerals, thank you’s, I’m sorry’s and I love you’s.  So, I give my job my all, just as if I was in charge of the biggest department in the store.  Because, to those people, it matters….a lot!

Life can feel like that, you know.  Sometimes, I think we can look at the little bit we have to offer and wonder if it even matters.  I’m here to say that yes, it matters!  That little card you sent mattered to the one who received it.  That bit of money you gave mattered to the ministry it funded.  That phone call made more of a difference than you know.  That hug you gave was much needed and perfectly timed.  It may not seem like a lot, but it’s a lot when given in love!

I was trying to think of an “insignificant” figure in the Bible I could use as an illustration.  I’m sure there are many, but Jabez won for tonight.  When I plugged his name into Biblegateway.com, only two scriptures came up.  “Jabez was more honorable that his brothers, and his mother named him Jabez, saying, ‘Because I bore Him with pain.’  Now Jabez called on the God of Israel, saying, ‘Oh that You would bless me indeed and enlarge my border, and that Your hand might be with me, and that You would keep me from harm that it may not pain me!”  1 Chronicles 4:9-10. NASB  You may be asking yourself what’s so special about some dude who only got two scriptures in the Bible.  Well….lemme tell you!  According to Wikipedia (yes, I get that wikipedia can be less than accurate, but I think it’ll be fine for our purposes.), Bruce Wilkinson wrote the book The Prayer of Jabez in 2000 and sold over nine million copies.  That’s a lot of books!  The entire book was based on Jabez’s prayer and Wilkinson’s assertion that we should pray that same prayer for ourselves.  Many lives were touched by Jabez’s two little scriptures.

And so too can many lives be touched by your little bit.  I often hear people say they don’t have a talent.  I disagree.  Everyone has something.  Some folks are creative.  Some are great organizers.  Others are good leaders.  And, some people….like my sweet husband…are just…nice.  Trust me, I mean that in a good way.  A really good way!  He is one of the most friendly, kind…well, nice….people I know.  He doesn’t see that as a gift.  But, the people he’s able to put at ease would disagree.    I think they would absolutely see him as a gifted man.  And God is able to use his “niceness” in great ways.

So….as Nike says….”Just Do It!”  Whatever your “it” is, do it cheerfully as unto the Lord and He will bless it mightily!  Who knows….maybe in a couple thousand years, someone will write a book about your prayers too!

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

