The Last Gasp

Life is seasonal.  Too often we forget it.  We cling to what was – or what we thought it was supposed to be – like drowning victims cling to their rescuers.  I think it’s normal to want things to last forever.  We were made for eternity, after all.  So our hearts long for eternity in anything good. 

But….life isn’t forever.  Almost two years ago, my dad passed away.  I wasn’t ready to let him go.  Until his last gasp, I held out hope for a miracle.  But it wasn’t to be.  We had gotten our miracle.  Dad had accepted Christ and I know where he’s spending eternity.  God’s answer was different from my request.  I may never know the reason, but I know that God is good and does nothing that isn’t out of love for us.

 So it is in life.  Seasons change.  The life cycle continues and with it comes the waxing and waning of….well….everything.  Nothing on this earth lasts for eternity.  When we get married, we say “til death do us part.”  Some folks get lucky and get that long.  Nothing else in life gets that promise.  Pinky swears don’t always hold up to the wear and tear life can have on a friendship.  Employee loyalty often isn’t enough to insure you’ll keep your job.  Ministries no longer suit your beliefs or needs.  Stuff breaks, rusts, gets stolen.  In the end, all you really have is God.

 Which is kind of the point of this blog.  Are you hanging onto something today that is dying….or already dead?  Are you waiting for the last gasp with dread, praying for a miracle?  I understand, all too well.  I am stubborn.  Loyal.  Hard headed.  Persistent.  And I have a hard time saying good-bye.  But, we must.  We must be willing to let go of what we’re hanging onto so that we can cling to Jesus.  He is the only thing you’ll carry with you from this life to the next. 

 So.  I’m looking in the mirror as I say this to you…let it go.  Whatever “it” is….just let go and grab onto God.  His love, mercy and grace will sustain and grow you.  And if your “it” is something He wants you to have, He’ll catch it and hand it back to you.

Be blessed and tell someone you love them.

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

The Last Gasp

Life is seasonal. Too often we forget it. We cling to what was – or what we thought it was supposed to be – like drowning victims cling to their rescuers. I think it’s normal to want things to last forever. We were made for eternity, after all. So our hearts long for eternity in anything good.

But….life isn’t forever. Almost two years ago, my dad passed away. I wasn’t ready to let him go. Until his last gasp, I held out hope for a miracle. But it wasn’t to be. We had gotten our miracle. Dad had accepted Christ and I know where he’s spending eternity. God’s answer was different from my request. I may never know the reason, but I know that God is good and does nothing that isn’t out of love for us.

So it is in life. Seasons change. The life cycle continues and with it comes the waxing and waning of….well….everything. Nothing on this earth lasts for eternity. When we get married, we say “til death do us part.” Some folks get lucky and get that long. Nothing else in life gets that promise. Pinky swears don’t always hold up to the wear and tear life can have on a friendship. Employee loyalty often isn’t enough to insure you’ll keep your job. Ministries no longer suit your beliefs or needs. Stuff breaks, rusts, gets stolen. In the end, all you really have is God.

Which is kind of the point of this blog. Are you hanging onto something today that is dying….or already dead? Are you waiting for the last gasp with dread, praying for a miracle? I understand, all too well. I am stubborn. Loyal. Hard headed. Persistent. And I have a hard time saying good-bye. But, we must. We must be willing to let go of what we’re hanging onto so that we can cling to Jesus. He is the only thing you’ll carry with you from this life to the next.

So. I’m looking in the mirror as I say this to you…let it go. Whatever “it” is….just let go and grab onto God. His love, mercy and grace will sustain and grow you. And if your “it” is something He wants you to have, He’ll catch it and hand it back to you.

Be blessed and tell someone you love them.

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

