Plan B

A few days ago, the kids were in school, the husband was working….and the best friend and I were both off work.    So…we went to breakfast at Cracker Barrel.  Mmmm….coffee, hashbrown casserole and fried apples….but I digress.  After we ate, I took the customary lap around the gift shop.  I love to see what new treasure I might find.  I rarely buy, but I love, love, love looking.  I especially love reading the cards and books and signs and…well, you get the point.  Anyway, I found one titled “Life Is All About How You Handle Plan B.”  It grabbed my attention and wouldn’t let go for days.  Here it is…

Plan A is always my first choice…the one where everything works out.  But more often than not, I find myself dealing with the upside-down, inside-out version where nothing goes as it should.  This is where the real test of my character comes in.  Do I sink or do I swim?  Do I wallow in self-pity or simply shift gears and make the best of the situation?  The choice is mine.  After all…life is all about how you handle Plan B.  ~ Suzy Toronto

Now, you need to know….I am living Plan B.  Or C.  Or maybe D.  G?  Z???  This is NOT the life I ordered!  I do not work where I thought I would work.  I don’t live where I thought I’d live.  My church is different.  My circle of friends is different.  Yet, I know that I’m exactly where God wants me.

Oh wait….then can this really be Plan B?  Well, I’m not sure.  But, I do know this.  Jeremiah 29:11 says, “‘For I know the plans that I have for you,’ declares the LORD, ‘plans for welfare and not for calamity to give you a future and a hope.” (NASB).  And Proverbs 16:9 says, “The heart of man plans his way, but the Lord establishes his steps.” (ESV).  Wait.  Maybe this isn’t really Plan B.  Maybe the problem was that my plan wasn’t God’s plan!

I still like the little Plan B saying.  It’s quite accurate.  It really is the test of our character – how we handle what life throws at us.  C.S. Lewis said, “There are two kinds of people: those who say to God, “Thy will be done,” and those to whom God says, “All right, then, have it your way.”  Honestly, that quote cracks me up, but it’s so true!  Look at the Israelites.  If they hadn’t been so busy murmuring and complaining about the way God was taking them, they would’ve reached the Promised Land much sooner!

And so it is with us.  Life is messy.  It just is.  Stuff happens.  Good stuff.  Bad stuff.  The best and the worst and everything in between and sometimes it seems to all come at once.  Well, God knew beforehand what we were going to face.  He uses people to change and mold us – to knock the rough edges off.  According to Proverbs 27:17, “Iron sharpens iron, So one man sharpens another.” (ESV) He uses circumstances to grow our faith.  Romans 5:3-4 says, “More than that, we rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that suffering produces endurance, and endurance produces character, and character produces hope.” (ESV).  Somehow, God then uses all that stuff to grow us, develop us, mold us and change us into the image we’re supposed to reflect – His.

So.  Are you feeling like you’re living Plan B and somehow missed the boat?  Take heart.  I believe, with all of my heart, that if you love the Lord with all you are and are seeking Him, that He will take your mess and turn it into something beautiful.  After all, Romans 8:28 says,And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose.” (ESV).  All things.  Yep, even your Plan B or D or Z.

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

