Falling Leaves

Good morning!  Yes, it’s been a while.  As you probably know, I tend to share the lessons God is teaching me.  Most of the time, when I write, I’m looking in the mirror.  I just hope and pray that whatever He’s teaching me may be useful to someone else.  Soooo….when I don’t care for the lessons, I’m not always good at sharing.  Yes, I get that folks may benefit from those too.  But, still….I am human.

You remember the old Nationwide commercials that said, “Life comes at you fast”?  Well, it’s been coming really fast around here.  So much so that the dear husband and I have been hunkered down waiting for it to pass.  Well, it hasn’t.  And God’s still rolling lessons in my spirit, so here I am to share.

This morning, I walked through the yard to the van to crank it and get my coffee cup.  Well, okay….it’s just a Tupperware tumbler because all our travel coffee mugs are MIA….including the one I stole borrowed from my best friend.  So, anyway, as I was walking through the yard, the leaves were crunching beneath my feet.  Yep, it’s that time of the year again.  The leaves are falling.  And making a mess in my yard.  And house.  And car.  As I crunched through, bemoaning the cold weather that is already sneaking up on us, I thought about seasons.  (Yes, we’ve covered the seasonal ground a lot this year.  Apparently, I haven’t learned my lesson yet, so here we go again!)  I have a love/hate relationship with fall.  I love, love, love the beautiful leaves!  I love, love, love the sound of the dead leaves rustling in the wind and crackling beneath my feet.  But, I hate, hate, hate the bare naked trees and I’m not a fan of cold weather.  To me, autumn is just a bittersweet season.  It’s the gateway to winter.  No, we don’t get much snow around here.  (Thank the LORD!)  But, it can get quite cold at times and everything just seems so dead.

Seems.  That is the operative word.  We know that just because the leaves fell off the tree doesn’t mean the tree is dead.  It means the tree is going into hibernation – a season of rest.  According to highlightskids.com (don’t judge!), trees drop their leaves because leaves lose a lot of moisture.  So, trees seal off the spot where the leaves are attached to prepare for the cold, dry air of winter.  Then, they hunker down and hibernate.  Okay….they look the same to us, but inside, they’re hunkered down!  When the weather begins warming up, and the trees get enough sunshine and rain, they begin blooming again.  But, the time that they’re bare can seem pretty dreary.

As it is for us.  We’re not really that different from trees.  When our seasons change, our lives must change to reflect it.  When we feel winter coming on, we drop the things that are going to weigh us down or drain us.  It’s different for everyone and some folks may have more than one thing.  It could be hobbies or relationships or habits.  (Or something else I can’t think of at this moment…)

In Hebrews, the Bible says, “let us also lay aside every encumbrance and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, fixing our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of faith” 12:1b, 2a NASB.  See….encumbrance and sin.  Notice they are given separately.  As the evangelist at church last night so neatly pointed out, just because a thing is an encumbrance (or weight) doesn’t mean it’s a sin.  And just because it’s not a sin doesn’t mean it doesn’t need to go.  Just like the leaves.

So….what about you?  Are you entering winter?  If so, I’m sorry.  I’m feeling ya!  But, God shows us in His Word and in nature what we must do.  Let go of the things that are going to keep you from surviving your winter.  What are those things?  I surely don’t know what yours are – you’ll have to ask God.  I trust, though, that just as the leaves come back in the spring, when our spring comes, God will either restore or replace what He asked you to step away from.  In the meantime, hunker down with Jesus and trust that He’ll get you through!

Be blessed and tell someone you love them.  (And show them too!)

 

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

