Warrior or Worrier?

I’ve confessed that I’m a Facebook junkie.  I am extremely curious.  Yes, some people say nosy.  Take your pick, I guess.  But, I see it as curiosity.  I love to know what makes people tick.  I love seeing pictures, prayer requests, praise reports.  And, yes, the folks who repeatedly post their personal drama on Facebook then get mad at people for asking questions absolutely crack me up.  Truly, though, Facebook often counts as my prayer list.  As I read each needy post, I pray.   As I think of them throughout the day, I pray again.

Yesterday, a friend posted that a family she knew needed prayer.  She ended with a plea to her fellow “prayer worriers.”  Now, I know she meant “warriors.”  I, too, am human and my fingers don’t always hit the right letters.  (Ask anyone who saw my epic fail of a post on Halloween.  If you didn’t see it, don’t ask.  I ain’t telling!)  But, her slip of the finger got my brain working.

Philippians 4:6 says, “Be careful for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God.”  Careful.  Hmmm.  Careful is a great word.  But, not here.  This is the archaic meaning of careful, which is anxious.  The NIV uses the word anxious, “Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.”  Okay, that’s better.  We know what it means to be anxious.  Webster’s defines it this way, “characterized by extreme uneasiness of mind or brooding fear about some contingency.”  Oh my.  Are any of you brooders?  I can be.  I love that it says “about some contingency.”  In my head, that becomes, “what if?”  I can “what if” a situation to death.  “What if….(some bizarre thing) happens???”  So, I like that it says, “Don’t be anxious.”  But….I get a little lost in the supplications and petitions. 

The GOD’S WORD Translation says it this way, “Never worry about anything. But in every situation let God know what you need in prayers and requests while giving thanks.”  AHA!  There it is!  Never worry.  About anything.  Oy.  That’s a tough one.  We humans like to worry.  But, check out the second part.  Let God know what you need in prayer and requests.  While giving thanks.  So…..Leigh Pack translation….quit stressing it!  Tell God what you need.  Ask Him to provide it.  Thank Him for whatever comes along.  That means to quit “what ifing,” quit trying to figure it out yourself.  Isaiah 55:9 says, “As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.” (NIV)  So, we can’t figure it out.  We don’t have the ability.  So quit trying.  And that thankful thing?  1 Thessalonians 5:18 says, “Be thankful in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you who belong to Christ Jesus.” (NLT).  There it is.  All circumstances. 

So….are you a prayer warrior or a prayer worrier?  Do you pray, ask God for the needed thing, trust Him to provide it and thank Him?  Or do you pray, ask God for the needed thing….then spend all your brain power trying to figure out how on earth it’s going to work out?  I’m guilty of being a prayer worrier at times.  But, I’m going to choose to be a warrior instead.  Want to join me?

Be blessed and tell someone you love them.

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

