What’s That Smell?

My little boy has an amazing sense of smell.  He can smell things intensely that others can’t even begin to sense.  Even scents that are pleasing to others stink to my little man.  One example is pot roast.  We love pot roast.  I cook it in the crock pot with potatoes, onions and carrots.  By the end of the day, we’re all ready to dig in….except my sweet little love lump who acts like I’m cooking some hazardous chemical.  He grabs his nose and yells, “UGH!  What’s that smell???”  Needless to say, cooking is always an adventure at my house!

I was thinking about smell today.  The Bible refers to our gifts to the Lord as aromas or smells.  One place this is true is in Philippians.  The whole chapter of Philippians 4 is about our attitude, the things we should focus on (good ones), rejoicing and being content in all situations.  The 18th verse says, “I have received full payment and have more than enough. I am amply supplied, now that I have received from Epaphroditus the gifts you sent. They are a fragrant offering, an acceptable sacrifice, pleasing to God.”  See….the gift was “fragrant.”  So, given the rest of that chapter, I think it’s safe to say that our very attitudes have a fragrance.  To God, yes, but I also believe our attitudes have a fragrance to others.

We’ve all heard the phrase, “Your attitude stinks!”  Does that matter?  Well, yes, I think it does.  I read a quote today that says it better than I can.  It says, “Your faith stimulates others to have faith. That’s what letting your light shine is all about. Joy is contagious. It beats sadness any day of the week. Hold on to the joys of your salvation. Refuse to let anything steal joy from your life. You need it too much…and the world around you needs it too.”  ~Jesse Duplantis  Yes….that’s it.  Others are watching.  Other Christians.  Non-Christians.  Those strong in their faith.  Those struggling in their faith.  All eyes are on you.  Your attitude is contagious.  But, it also reflects on the One Who gave you life.  What are you reflecting?  Is it an accurate profile of the Lord?  Or even of one who should be following Him?

Colossians 3:23 says, “Whatever you do, do your work heartily, as for the Lord rather than for men,”  1 Thessalonians 5:18 says, “in everything give thanks; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”  I believe, with all of my heart, that if you belong to the Lord, then you are where He wants you to be.  Whether that be in your job, your home, your relationships, your ministry….I believe that God plants us and expects us to bloom there until He moves us.  I also believe He expects the “blooming” process to be a positive one, not a constant complaining of where you are and what you’re doing.

So…let me ask you.  How do you smell?  Is your attitude a sweet fragrance for our Lord and for those around you?  Or do you stink?  Am I saying you must always be upbeat and positive?  Ummm….no.  That’s unrealistic.  But, I do believe that if you’re constantly complaining about a certain thing, you may have a stinky attitude about it and that may not be what God would like from you.

Sooo…..I’ll ask again….how do you smell?  Are you a pleasing fragrance to be around?  Or are you starting to stink a little?  I think it’s always a good question to ask ourselves and it’s never too late to open a can of praise to make things smell better!

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

 

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

