Got Faith?

Got faith?  I do.  Even today.  Today, when a dear friend is no longer with us, despite our prayers.  Despite the fact that we were certain she’d be up walking, talking, laughing, singing again soon.  We knew she might have a long road to recovery.  But, we never doubted.  Okay, maybe some did.  But, the folks I knew praying had perfect faith.  Yet, she is gone.  Never again will I get a text from my friend.  Never again will she grab me in a bear hug.  Not in this life anyway.

So, where was God?  Where was our faith?  Did we have enough?  Did we pray hard enough?  Did we pray the right thing?  Is there a God?  Does He care?  Or are we fooling ourselves, thinking there is a God who cares and who helps?

I’ve seen the posts on Facebook.  I’ve felt the pain behind them.  I’ve asked some of the same questions.  Even the posts before her death were setting us up for possible heartache.  Demands that her body “line up with the Word of God.”  Insisting that “by His stripes we are healed” means that our bodies must be healed.  Even saying that the devil must let go of her.

So.  Here’s my answer to that.  God is God.  And He is good even when circumstances aren’t.  Even when our hearts are broken and we can’t wrap our puny brains around what has happened.  And sometimes, He chooses not to heal.  If it were true that our faith is all that’s needed, Michelle would have lived.  In fact, I kept expecting a call that she had been raised from the dead.  Lack of faith was not at play here.  What was at play is that God is sovereign.  His plan is bigger and…yes….better than ours.  And, clearly, Michelle’s time here was done.

Yes, I’m sure some of you are jumping up and down insisting that I don’t understand the Word.  I am well aware of the promises on healing.  I am the wife of a healed man.  I have received healing.  I know that I know that I know that God is our Healer.  Jehovah Rophe.  But, I also know this:  to assume that it’s only the amount of faith that we possess that changes whether or not a person is healed takes the power away from God and puts it in our hands.  And my God is MUCH bigger than that.  Yes, I know….mustard seed faith. But…that’s only if we’re praying in God’s will.  And since I’m not walking around with any 900 year old people, it seems clear to me that God doesn’t will for everyone to live forever on this earth.  So, clearly we can’t all be healed of everything since death is still real.

To assume there is no God.  Well.  I just can’t.  All I can say to that is when you’ve met Jesus, you don’t forget and you can’t remain the same.  Yes, it’s really that simple for me.

So does that mean there is a God and He simply doesn’t care?  Well, I would say that a God that sent His only Son to die on a cross for sin He never committed is a God of love.  The Bible says God is Love.  Just because we don’t understand the situation doesn’t mean God doesn’t love us, it simply means we don’t understand.  Think about children – as parents, we often expect them to obey without explaining our entire motive.  Sometimes, it’s as simple as the fact that we know what is best for them and they do not and we do it out of love.  God refers to us as His children throughout scripture and loves us far more than we can love.

That puts us right back where we started.  Why, God?  Why was our mother, daughter, sister, friend, wife taken from us at such an early age?  I don’t know.  But, I do know this.  She loved the Lord exactly the way He tells us to – with all her heart and soul and mind and strength.  Not only did she love Him, she constantly pointed others to Him.  She devoted her life to serving God by serving others.  If Facebook has taught me anything in the last 24 hours, it is that Michelle affected many deeply.  So many people have said she was their mentor, inspiration, prayer warrior, champion.

What if it’s as simple as the fact that her race was over?  She ran it well and she is done.  I know that she’s standing before our Lord and He is saying, “Well done, good and faithful servant.”  And if the size of our mansion has anything to do with our works on this earth, hers is huge!

Michelle made a difference in the Kingdom of God.  She did more in her 48 years than I think we’ll ever know this side of Heaven.  Let her go the way she would have wanted – giving God the glory He deserves for a life well lived.

Be blessed and tell someone you love them.

 

 

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Got Faith?

  1. Cynthia says:

    I know what it took to write those words and mean them. She is saying, ” Well done, Shorty. -M ” I love you, Leigh. Your gift made the difference for me today. I’ve waited 30 hours to hear what I needed to hear, and this was it. I can let go now. ❤

Leave a Reply

