Do It Now!

If you’re a regular here, you know that I tend to write about the things that are happening in my life right now.  That is what God uses to speak to me, so I share the message.  It makes me feel better if I think I’m not the only one who needs that lesson!  Since we laid to rest a very dear friend yesterday, that’s pretty much all that’s on my mind.  Forgive me for the theme.  I’m sure it will pass soon.  In the meantime, I’m going to write what’s in me.

For days, I’ve had one line of a song rolling through my head and heart.  It’s not a song I would typically be singing….but then I’m likely to sing most anything.  But, so many times, as I’ve thought about this past week, this is what has rolled through me….”If tomorrow never comes.”  Truthfully, if I just posted the lyrics to the song, they pretty much convey the whole thought behind this….but, c’mon….you don’t really think I’ll do that, do you???  Still, we’ll start there.

Sometimes late at night
I lie awake and watch her sleeping
She’s lost in peaceful dreams
So I turn out the lights and lay there in the dark
And the thought crosses my mind
If I never wake up in the morning
Would she ever doubt the way I feel
About her in my heart

(chorus)

If tomorrow never comes
Will she know how much I loved her
Did I try in every way to show her every day
That she’s my only one
if my time on earth were through
She must face this world without me
Is the love I gave her in the past
Gonna be enough to last
If tomorrow never comes

‘Cause I’ve lost loved ones in my life
Who never knew how much I loved them
Now I live with the regret
That my true feelings for them never were revealed
So I made a promise to myself
To say each day how much she means to me
And avoid that circumstance
Where there’s no second chance to tell her how I feel

*chorus*

So tell that someone that you love
Just what you’re thinking of
If tomorrow never comes

Well, for my dear friend, tomorrow didn’t come.  It has made me think.  First of all, did she have any clue how much she meant to me?  I hope so.  If not, I suspect she knows now.  Next thought?  Do I have anyone in my life who may not know how I feel about them?  That answer doesn’t come as easy.  It makes me think that I may not be taking advantage of my todays properly.  Suddenly, I’ve been made to truly face that my tomorrow might not come.  I might not get another chance to make sure that those I love understand how much I love them.

James 4 says, Come now, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we will go to such and such a city, and spend a year there and engage in business and make a profit.” Yet you do not know what your life will be like tomorrow. You are just a vapor that appears for a little while and then vanishes away.  (v. 13-14, NASB)  Yes, that.  Although time can seem quite long, compared to eternity, it isn’t.  And, God’s plans tend to be a bit different from ours at times.  I like to say we tell our plans to God and He laughs.  Proverbs 16:9 says it this way,The mind of man plans his way, but the Lord directs his steps.” (NASB)

So.  I think the lesson is that we should take care of what needs to be taken care of today.  Don’t put it off.  Got something you need to say?  Say it.  Got a book in you?  Write it.  Got a song to sing?  Sing it.  Got a ministry idea burning within you?  Start it.  Need to forgive someone?  Do it now.  Because tomorrow may not come.

Be blessed and tell someone you love them.

 

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Do It Now!

  1. Thank you for making me smile today!

    Mr.MakingUsmile

Leave a Reply

