Between a Rock and a Hard Place

I know of someone who has an important business decision to make.  Often, when that happens, the choices are between good and good.  In this case, it’s between not great and not great.  Neither choice seems like a good one, yet it must be made….and it must be made quickly.

Have you ever been there?  I have and it’s an uncomfortable spot to be in.  Yet, even in those places – sometimes, especially in those places – God has more room to work than ever.  Don’t believe me?  Ask Moses!  He had led the Israelites out of Egypt.  They were running as hard as they could from an angry Pharoah and his massive army.  But, before they knew it, there was nowhere else to run.  Yep, they were at the Red Sea with nowhere to go.  Uh oh.  They were terrified!  They cried out to God.  They yelled at Moses and asked him why he had brought them here to die.  But God.  (you know those are my two favorite words!)  But God wasn’t done.

First, I think we need to look at what Moses told them.  “Fear ye not, stand still, and see the salvation of the Lord, which he will shew to you to day…The Lord shall fight for you, and ye shall hold your peace.”  Exodus 14:13a, 14 KJV  I think it’s important to note that Moses told the Israelites that before God spoke the next step to Moses.  See….Moses had been waiting on crazy instructions from God and following them for a while.  So, he knew the deal.  He had “been there, done that.”  He believed, rightly so, that God hadn’t brought them that far just to let them drown or die at the hands of Pharoah’s army.  But, the people weren’t necessarily convinced.  They hadn’t walked that walk of faith with Moses.  So, now they had to learn for themselves.

We know what happened next.  God asked Moses why the people were crying out to Him. (I have to think that God was thinking…goodness people, have some faith!) Then God told Moses to tell the people to keep walking forward.  He also told Moses, “But lift thou up thy rod, and stretch out thine hand over the sea, and divide it.”  What???  That seems impossible!  (See.  Crazy instructions.)  God also gave the promise that He would take care of the Egyptians.  Because of what Moses had already experienced, he had faith, so he did as God said.  The water divided in two.  The Israelites went in.  The Egyptians followed.  Just as the Israelites safely reached the other side, God released the waters and the Egyptians were drowned.  Woohoo!  Rejoicing!  The Israelites were convinced of God’s faithfulness! (For a short while, anyway.  But that’s another blog for another day.)

So, are you in between a rock and a hard place?  Or….in between an angry Pharoah and the Red Sea?  Well, I would say to you what Moses said to the Israelites, “The Lord shall fight for you, and ye shall hold your peace.”  I would also say this….trust Him.  He didn’t bring you this far to drop you.  In “Experiencing God”, Henry Blackaby says to do the last thing God told you.  If you are listening to Him, walking with Him, then you know what He told you to do.  Keep doing it until He tells you something different.  Then, stand still and let Him work!  I think these verses in Ephesians sum it all up:

Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power.  Put on the full armor of God, so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes. For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.  Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand.  Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place,  and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace.  In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one.  Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.  And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the Lord’s people.  Ephesians 6:10-18

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

Now….I need to add this.  A long time ago, I believed being a “Christian” meant you said a little prayer at an altar, claimed Christ as your savior, then went on to live your life.  I didn’t understand the meaning of relationship.  But, what I’ve learned along the way is this…God wants more than a confession of faith.  He wants you.  Every bit of you.  He wants to literally walk this path of life with you.  He doesn’t want to sit on a shelf like a Bible you pull out occasionally, He doesn’t want to be a Sunday-only God.  Acts 17:28 says, “For in him we live and move and have our being.” NIV  Hmmm.  That means we can do nothing apart from Him.  That also tells me that He cares about our decisions.  So, if you’re stuck in a hard place but haven’t been living “with” Him, now is a great time to start.  Call out to Him.  Ask Him to, not just help you in this spot, but to help you walk in Him.  It’s a crazy ride, but well worth the price of admission.  (And if this concept is new to you and you’d like to talk about it or ask question, please feel free to contact me!)

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

