One Play At a Time

I’m watching football with the best friend.  (Go Colts!)  The announcers were discussing that, once again, the Colts were behind by quite a few points at halftime.  One of the announcers made the statement that when you’re behind, it sounds too simplistic, but you must take the game one play at a time.

In typical Leigh fashion, I quickly saw the spiritual application.  Sometimes, in life, we feel like we’re behind….sometimes way behind.  Just as the football announcer said, that’s the time to take it one play at a time.  Or, one day at a time.

The Bible seems pretty clear about living one day at a time, though, so it shouldn’t come as a surprise.  In the Lord’s Prayer, Jesus Himself teaches us to pray, “give us this day our daily bread.”  I don’t think He meant just food.  I think it applies to everything we need.  In Psalm 63, the Psalmist says, “early will I seek you.”  Isaiah 30:21 says, “Whether you turn to the right or to the left, your ears will hear a voice behind you, saying, ‘This is the way; walk in it.'”  Proverbs 16:9 says, “We can make our plans, but the LORD determines our steps.”

So, what does that mean for us, practically, day by day?  Well, I think it means that we start each day with the Lord.  We should not only be before Him asking His plans for our day, but simply spending time with Him, worshiping and praising Him.  I think it means that, especially when we feel down and out, we pray over every decision that comes our way.  I think it means not stressing our situation but resting in His promises and trusting His plan.  The scripture that comes to mind is “Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight.”  Proverbs 3:5-6.

What about you?  Are you down by a couple of touchdowns?  Take heart, the game isn’t over yet.  Take it one play at a time!

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to One Play At a Time

Leave a Reply

