Don’t Pray!

Ha!  Got your attention, didn’t I?

So, before you go thinking I’ve gone off the deep end or I’m renouncing my faith, please let me tell you that I believe prayer is the most powerful tool we have as Christians.  The privilege that Jesus’ death gave us – to go to the throne of God ourselves, is without match.  I covet the prayers of those who will take the time to pray to our loving Heavenly Father on my behalf.

But, not everyone feels that way!  As Christians, our job isn’t simply to make Christian friends, listen to Christian music and live in a Christian bubble (thanks Pastor Reid!).  Yes, prayer is vital.  Yes, I believe we are to pray.  Jesus Himself even took time to pray, so I’m guessing it matters for us also.  But, we’re talking about believers here.  To a non-believer, the offer to pray to a God they don’t believe in doesn’t mean a whole lot.  To be honest, I’m not sure I had ever really thought about it that way, until I saw a quote on Facebook.  It said,

“I don’t like when people say, ‘I pray for you.’  What?  So basically, you sit home and do nothing.  You do nothing while I struggle with a situation?  Don’t pray for me.  Make me a sandwich or something.” ~ Hannibel Buress

Oh.my.goodness.  What a clear picture of the thought process of those who don’t believe!  So, what do we do?  Do we really quit praying for those people?  Of course not!  But, I believe that’s where loving people – in a tangible way – comes into play.  There’s a quote that says, “People don’t care how much you know til they know how much you care.”  So true!

So….how do we “love” those who need it the most?  Well, we take Mr. Buress’ advice – make him a sandwich!  Or, more precisely, look carefully, find a need or want and meet it.  Is the person you’re trying to love a coffee drinker?  Well, there’s a Starbucks on every corner these days!  Do they have a need you can meet?  Do it.  And remember, when giving, if it doesn’t hurt you at least a little, it doesn’t mean nearly as much.  It’s when you really sacrifice yourself for others that they truly can feel the love.  (and that’s true no matter who you’re loving!).  What does loving a non-believer do?  It points them to the One Who is Love.  And that’s what we’re supposed to be doing!

“I’m giving you a new commandment: Love each other in the same way that I have loved you. Everyone will know that you are my disciples because of your love for each other.”  John 13:34-35 GOD’S WORD Translation

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!  (and show them too….)

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

