Searching

As I was looking at Facebook this morning, I saw a post by a friend who has an unusual last name.  She was stating (on someone else’s status) that yes, that was her legal last name.  It wasn’t the name she was born with – it is one she and her husband chose together.

It reminded me of a movie I watched way back in the day when I was pregnant with my girl.  (I don’t remember all the details, so forgive me for any I may get wrong, but the point of the story doesn’t change.)  The girl’s name was Ellen and she had a terrible life.  Her birth family didn’t appreciate the gift they had been given and the kids in her family were treated horribly.  She longed for a better life.  She realized the folks down the street really seemed to have it all together and thought it would be great to be part of their family.  She heard them referred to as the “foster family.”  In her child’s mind, she heard, “Foster family.”  She so longed to be part of a loving family, she started calling herself Ellen Foster.  (for a better story about this movie, ask my husband how long I cried after I watched it!)

The point of both of these name changes is the same.  They represent something the name-changers wanted to be.  The name was chosen to help fill a gap in their lives.  They were searching for something and the new name was the indication that they had found it.

We are all searching.  We’re born that way.  Some find it earlier than others.  But, we are all born with a deep desire to be loved unconditionally, to be accepted as we are, to be deemed important,….to matter.  All too often, we look in all the wrong places to fulfill that desire.  But that desire can only be filled by the One Who put it there to begin with.  Sex, drugs, alcohol, money, fame can’t fill it.  A perfect body, perfect house, perfect car, perfect life can’t do it.  Your spouse, girlfriend, boyfriend, children, parents, friends can’t supply what you need.  Religion, church, the Bible, regular devotions aren’t the answer.  Only One will do.

So….if you’re searching this morning, if you’ve tried to find fulfillment in every way you can think but still feel empty, I would only say this to you…the Bible says,

You will seek Me and find Me when you search for Me with all your heart.  Jeremiah 29:13

Have you tried everything else and you’re still not happy?  Try God.  What do you have to lose?

Be blessed and tell someone you love them.

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

