Detour!

Have you ever been driving and suddenly come upon a detour or roadblock you weren’t expecting? It can be stressful and scary if you’re driving in an area you’re not familiar with. At that point, your options tend to be pretty limited. You follow the detour signs, ask for directions (praying the person giving them knows what they’re talking about!) or pull it up on GPS. In all of those scenarios, though, you are relying on someone other than yourself.

Have you ever been driving through life and come upon a detour or roadblock? Life roadblocks don’t always come with flashing lights and road signs. Often they look more like this….Sickness. Death. Divorce. Betrayal. Failure. Loss. These are often unfamiliar areas and they are scary. It’s easy to lose sight of what steps to take next. Well, I believe it’s no different from driving roadblocks – follow the detour signs (listen), ask for directions (pray) or pull it up on GPS (read your Bible).

I’m at the point in my life that I’ve been walking with the Lord for a while now. And I’ve learned a few things. One of those things is that God often uses a life detour to put us on the path He wants us on. I know it’s scary and frustrating. Believe me when I tell you that I’m still not a good sport about these detours! I’ve been known to murmur and complain before I pick up my stuff and travel in the direction He’s pointed. But, that’s the key – you’ve got to go the direction He sends you! Jesus said He would never leave or forsake us.

I can hear you know. Stomping your foot and telling me this isn’t the way it’s supposed to be! She wasn’t supposed to die! He wasn’t supposed to get sick! She wasn’t supposed to cheat! They were supposed to treat me better than this! I should’ve done better! I get it. I really do. And….so does Jesus. He felt everything….everything!….that we can feel. That was the point of Him being human. And He’s big enough to handle your fear and frustration and anger. Let Him have it! Then….let Him have it. You know? Do the screaming and stomping and tell Him how you feel. He knows anyway. Then, release it. Only then will you be able to listen to His direction.

So. Are you at a life detour? Are you scared, frustrated, angry? I understand. But, I also understand that God is still in control even when it doesn’t feel like it. Scream it out if you must, but then listen. He’s trying to tell you what to do. The signs will be there. But, don’t expect the full picture! He knows His children are stubborn and would run ahead of Him. Take one step at a time and trust that He really does know what He’s doing.

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

