Don’t Be Nice….

….just be yourself!

Yep, that’s the brilliant advice my husband gave me as a young married woman.  I would get a headache when we had to go to certain places because I was trying so hard to be nice and be the person I thought they thought I should be.  His answer was dead on, although it has taken me years to actually grasp it.

And, it has occurred to me this week that, in the same way I thought I had to be “nice” to make people like me, so many folks think we have to fit a certain mold to make it to Heaven.  In fact, I recently had a discussion with a young mom who told me that her preschooler was sobbing because she thought she was going to hell because she had been bad at school!

I’ve walked with the Lord so long now, that I forget that some people truly don’t have a firm grasp on what it means to be a Christian or how to get to Heaven.  So….here’s my advice….

Don’t try to be nice, just be yourself!

Seriously.  God made you that way!  He never once says in the Bible that you have to be “nice” to get to Heaven.  Or read the Bible.  Or go to church.  Now…don’t misunderstand me, those aren’t bad things, but they won’t get you to Heaven.  Only one thing can get you there.  Well….One Person….Jesus.  Over and over the Bible makes it clear that He is the only way.

Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.”  John 14:6

They replied, “Believe in the Lord Jesus, and you will be saved–you and your household.”  Acts 16:31

That if you confess with your mouth, “Jesus is Lord,” and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved.  For it is with your heart that you believe and are justified, and it is with your mouth that you confess and are saved.  Romans 10:9-10

So….how does this work?  Ummm….I dunno exactly.  All I know is since I met Jesus, I’ve never been the same!  One way to explain the steps to salvation is this, the ABC’s of salvation: (taken from http://pentecostalevangel.ag.org/salvation.cfm)

A. Admit you are a sinner.
“There is no one righteous, not even one … for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God.”
Romans 3:10,23. (See Romans 5:8; 6:23.)

Ask God’s forgiveness.
“Everyone who calls on the name of the Lord will be saved.”
Romans 10:13

B. Believe in Jesus
(put your trust in Him) as your only hope of salvation.
“For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.” John 3:16 (See John 14:6.)

Become a child of God by receiving Christ.
“To all who receive him, to those who believed in his name, he gave the right to become children of God.” John 1:12 (See Revelation 3:20.)

C. Confess that Jesus is your Lord.
“If you confess with your mouth, ‘Jesus is Lord,’ and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved.” Romans 10:9 (See verse 10.)

So.  See.  It’s not about who you are or what you’ve done.  It’s about Jesus and what He’s done.  If you know all this already and are a child of God, good!  I’m glad to have you as a sister or brother.  Go tell someone else about Him.  If you’re not a “Christian” or you haven’t followed these steps, there’s no time like the present!  Loving Jesus doesn’t make life easy, but He certainly make life worth living!

Be blessed and tell someone you love them.  (And that Jesus loves them more!)

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

