Jesus Loves Me

Some years ago, in another lifetime, when I thought I knew so much more than I know today, most of my days were spent in our church.  I worked there, volunteered there, worshiped there.  They were my family.  And it was good.  What I didn’t know was that the world I was living in wasn’t real.  I was living in seclusion, in a cocoon, in a Christian Bubble (as a pastor friend of mine likes to say).  And although that bubble was a nice, safe place to be (and a great place to grow as a Christian), it isn’t how God calls us to live.

One day, I slipped into my dear friend’s office and there she sat in tears.  Her life seemed to be falling down around her.  She had chosen the bulletin cover for the week.  It was a simple, child-like drawing that said, “Jesus Loves Me.”  I stifled a giggle then asked why she had chosen that one.  She looked at me, sadness and fear in her eyes, and said, “I just needed the reminder.”

Fast forward to years later, when we were stepping away from the very church that supported and protected us for so many years.  It was a hard, scary move and we weren’t exactly sure of what we were doing, except God had said, “Go.”  There were misunderstandings and hurt feelings.  But, the song that sustained me was this…”He loves me, oh how He loves me….”  You see, I needed the reminder.

Now, fast forward again, another half a decade, and yet again the Lord is moving us.  This move is even more hard and scary.  But, I’m even more certain God is at the midst of it.  I’m not sure what He’s doing, I’m only sure that it is Him.  And, yes, there are misunderstandings and hurt feelings.  But, I cling once again to the knowledge that He loves me.

I think, sometimes, we don’t grasp what it means to be loved by God.  If you are a person (And, if you’re reading this, then I assume you are), then God loves you.  unequivocally.  Unconditionally.  Unflinchingly.  Loves.  God loves.  God can’t do anything outside of His love because He IS love.  Look it up, the Bible says so in 1 John 4:8.  If, then, God is love, anything He is doing in your life is out of that love He has for you.  Which means it’ll be okay.

So.  Are you in a hard, scary place?  That’s okay.  God’s there with you.  And He loves you!  If you’re there because of your own doing, simply reach out your hand, call His name and He’ll be there to rescue you before you can finish your sentence!  But, if your hard, scary place is where God has you….Fear not!  He’s not going to take you anywhere that He hasn’t already planned the provision!  As a card I used to carry around says, “Where God guides, He provides.”  Because….God loves you!

Be blessed and tell someone you love them.

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jesus Loves Me

  1. Ruth byrum says:

    Praying for you as you step out. Change is hard and scary but God has it in his hand. Talking to myself as much as you today. Lol

Leave a Reply

