Wrong Turn Relationships

Have you ever taken a wrong turn? I have. Many times. Today, it was my best friend who turned the wrong way. You see, we’re on a little mini vacation in the mountains. And we were just riding around, enjoying the view. As we came out of a road that we decided we didn’t really want to travel, my friend turned right instead of left. Left would’ve taken us back the way we came. I knew immediately she had turned the opposite direction, but said nothing because I thought she had done it on purpose. After a few miles of hairpin turns, I casually wondered aloud where this road was going to take us. She argued that we were going the way we came. I insisted we were not. The good natured argument was quickly ended when we came upon the dam that creates Lake Lure. I’d love to say I didn’t say I told you so, but….hehehe…well, you KNOW I did! At any rate, that wrong turn turned out to be one of the prettiest views of our trip!

And so it is with some relationships in our lives. I have a couple friends who are in those relationships right now. Well, so are the best friend and I, for that matter! Confused? Let me explain.

She and I met in hard places in life. Neither one of us intended to make any friends. We had been wounded and simply didn’t want the heartache of another friendship. And, we were in quite different places in life. But, God apparently disagreed. We hit it off almost immediately and found ourselves loving the other, despite our plan of not getting close to anyone. The friendship seemed a bit unlikely-a wrong turn, if you will. But, it has been an amazing ride and I’m so thankful for her! I find myself regularly thanking God for her, her friendship and that His plan was different from mine.

My friends who are in wrong turn relationships can recount almost the same tale, except it’s with a significant other instead of a best friend. The relationships seem a bit unlikely, their situations are different ad they may seem mismatched. But God. God seems to have different plans. And if they’ll keep Him at the center of it, He’ll make it exactly what He wants it to be.

I believe my friends are learning a lesson that my best friend and I are living. Sometimes, a wrong turn isn’t so wrong after all. Sometimes, that was the turn God intended for you to take all along. And that, my dear friends, is where the prettiest views are. So, trust the plan and enjoy the ride! God’s got this.

Be blessed and tell someone you love them!

20140428-212106.jpg

About meanderingswithgod

I Write. It’s what I do. It’s as vital a part of me as breathing. I write when I’m happy. I write when I’m sad. I write when I don’t understand. Or when I understand a little too clearly. I write when God’s speaking to me. And when I’m speaking to Him. And, more often than not, it comes out in rhythm and rhyme. In my words, you’ll find laughter and tears, pain and triumph, confusion and clarity. In my words, if you bother to search, you’ll find me. So, it is with both excitement and trepidation that I begin. This blog. This writing that’s been so long coming. My words. God’s words. Don’t worry, you’ll be able to tell the difference. Mine are clumsy, His are eloquent. I hope, as you read my verbal meanderings, that you’ll be blessed and find yourself searching for Him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

